We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place for poems and relaxation”
Review of Changde Poem Wall

Changde Poem Wall
Ranked #1 of 47 things to do in Changde
Attraction details
Reviewed 22 October 2014

We went to Changde Poem Wall on 8 September 2014 by tour group. It was a big place for family outing. The entrance was a beautiful Chinese traditional tower. On either side of the entrance there was a long wall of Chinese poems. Those who could read the Chinese words from old writings to modern writings would benefit tremendously, especially those who loved poetry. In front of these walls of poems, was a big park and a river. As we walked briskly, we could feel the cooling breeze blowing towards us.

Date of experience: September 2014
1  Thank Seng Hing N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"pedestrian street"
in 2 reviews
"long wall"
in 2 reviews
"poetry"
in 3 reviews
"poets"
in 4 reviews
"river"
in 4 reviews
Filter

7 - 11 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2013

We walked about a km of this wall which is actually 4 kms long, 2 kms from either side of the entrance.

Pity we had not enough time, and only one or two of us could read the old writing.

Apparently the Poem Wall is an anthology of both very old and modern poems from many Chinese poets.

But the wall was not all poems; it has illustrations as well, except we could not really understand the significance.

The wall is located along a river and we were told that it was also a barricade against overflowing waters. At the entrance a steel barrier plate would rise up from the floor and align with the wall to form a perfect barrier.

It was a lovely quiet place marred, in my opinion, by cigarette smoke from locals who were relaxing there.

Date of experience: November 2013
Thank sweetafton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Date of experience: July 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 November 2017
Google Translation

Date of experience: October 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of experience: November 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Changde Poem Wall also viewed

 

Been to Changde Poem Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing