We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect getaway, splendidly located”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lemon Tree Patio

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
26 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Olvera, Province of Cadiz, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Jaimz_H
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect getaway, splendidly located”
Reviewed 10 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

For clarity, I have divided the review into two sections - the accommodation and the area.

The House

Was lucky enough to be able to book the house for a week on short notice (very lucky). On arrival I certainly wasn't disappointed - the house was exactly as I'd hoped for; well presented and well equipped. This is more like a home in that it contains everything you need no matter how long you stay and has a homely feel about it. This is a plus for me as I always pack light and the use of a washing machine etc. is a welcome bonus. The kitchen is a kitchen, not a kitchenette. The lounge is spacious, as is the bedroom. Having two bathrooms means couples do not have to wait around for each other.

The patio is (as the name suggests) shaded by a lemon tree where a couple can sit with ample space and privacy but the terrace is a great place to sit (or lie) and relax. It is shaded in the morning and later in the afternoon and would be a great space for receiving visitors/having a get-together. In fact, the pics understate how much outside space there really is. To realistically manage expectations this is not a modern apartment, it is a Spanish home which I would take all day long over a complex or apartment building.

The Location

Olvera is a sensible 1.5hrs from Malaga. It doesn't take long to get from the airport into the countryside and I was pretty blown away by the scenery. The roads are good and traffic light.

The town itself seems to be entirely devoid of touristy tack (excellent) and because of this, you feel like a visitor more than a tourist (again, excellent). It should be borne in mind that most places do close in the afternoons and get going again in the evening. Not a problem, just be prepared!

Olvera has a good array of places to eat and drink. Prices are reasonable to say the least and the quality of food and service is excellent - very friendly and relaxed. Olvera really comes to life of a summers evening!

Because it is not a tourist trap it would be wise to learn some basic Spanish and also smile! The locals all greet you as you walk by. As per many places, some of the menus are translated into English but where is the fun in that! I always find that effort made is well received. If you are not comfortable 'when in Rome....' then this may not be the place for you. I enjoyed hearing barely an English word spoken.

Olvera is ideally located as a base from which to do day/overnight trips with plenty to see/do. Driving around the mountain roads of the nearby National Park is a stunning way to pass a day, there are local lakes to swim in and if you are prepared to drive for a couple of hours then Cadiz, Gibraltar are reachable.

My only words of caution are not with regard to the accommodation or the location but the weather; it is VERY warm during the summer so be prepared!

To re-cap - Lemon Tree Patio is a professionally run, well- equipped getaway from daily life (and British tourists) located in a town where you can either stay put or tour around. I would certainly return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Oct 2017
Thank you for your review , I hope to see you again! Hopefully not when we are having a heat wave ;) xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMajtas
1 review
“Lovely house with the beautiful lemon tree.”
Reviewed 24 March 2016 for a stay in April 2015

Everything was there for a lovely comfortable stay in Olvera. The patios were a joy whether for breakfast or evening drinks. We were very comfortable, slept well and enjoyed returning to this lovely house at the end of the day .

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Oct 2017
Thank you for your lovely review Hayley, We would welcome you or your family back anytime, a pleasure , Zoe x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly B
1 review
“Complete get away”
Reviewed 23 March 2016 for a stay in June 2015

Lemon Tree is the complete escape if u really want a taste of the real untouched Spain ... The local food is gorgeous and the locals are friendly and helpful, it is a lovely town house with a spacious terrace

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Mar 2016
Thank you for your review it was a pleasure having you, Its only just over a week until you are staying for a second time! :)
Have fun and thank you for your personal comments also.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galaxymum...
reading
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“lovely”
Reviewed 23 March 2016 for a stay in November 2015

we had super stay at lemon tree.knew how to change gas bottle so plenty of hot water , washing machine did my clothes a treat.useful having left over staples in cupboard salt pepper etc.
comfy warm bed with plenty of hanging space in wardrobe. panel heaters in upstairs room.plenty of logs for fire estufa.
would go again but now we have our own house in village gutted we were to late to stay there in feb...thanks zoe

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Mar 2016
Hi Penny, Thanks for your review and so sorry Lemon Tree wasn't available for your last stay! Your house will be just as cosy! Good Luck with it all, how exciting :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mrs ”
Reviewed 23 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Lovely authentic town house. Owner couldn't do enough to ensure our comfort. We were so grateful to experience real Spanish living in this cosy casa.
House was well equipped and ideally located to explore the town. Have stayed here several times over the years and have thoroughly enjoyed each and every time. The semana santa parade past the front door is amazing.
Perfect property and with fresh lemons always to hand to grace out G and T's!
Thanks zoe xx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Mar 2016
Ahhhh thank you Marianne, always a pleasure my home is your home, you are perfect guests and hopefully it won't be too long before you can come back to Olvera again x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing