We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Private Retreat”
other travellers have booked this property
A seasonal view from the burn (Jan, 2016)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A seasonal view from the burn (Jan, 2016)
Just outside the gates after some snow (Kennels on the left) Another seasonal one from the grounds (kennels in the background) (Jan, 2016)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
A seasonal view from the burn (Jan, 2016)
Just outside the gates after some snow (Kennels on the left)
Another seasonal one from the grounds (kennels in the background) (Jan, 2016)
A summer view
Whisky-barrel picnic spot within the grounds
Hot-Tub and Patio
The Garden-room with shower and en-suite
Fully equipped kitchen (including dishwasher and Nespresso machine)
Dinning-room with view onto the garden, burn and woodlands
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Craigellachie, Moray, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
V9104WLjj
Escondido, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Private Retreat”
Reviewed 1 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This secluded cottage is located just a few minutes drive or a few miles walk from the town of Craigellachie. It's proximity to many fine distilleries as well as the Cooperage is a plus for any whiskey aficionados. The owners of the home are very kind and were easy to reach by Mobile or email and were happy to talk with us to give us places to eat and where the local market is.

The cottage can be heated either by electric heaters in each room or using the fireplace which included a large basket of firewood which made for cozy evenings. The Jacuzzi is also a must after a long day out. The kitchen is also well stocked with tools for cooking.

We'd rent thisCottage in the Woods without hesitation on our next trip to Speyside.

Some Tips for getting there: The address provided doesn't quite tell the whole story on getting there so be sure to look up the road on Google Street View so you have an idea on what to look for.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshMSP
Fife, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Peaceful Relaxing Lovely!”
Reviewed 17 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed over Valentine's weekend. Cottage is lovely, cosy and has all home comforts. Comfy beds. Hot tub is amazing. We found the shower in the beach hut better than the house shower! Huge garden for Jazz the dog who loved loved loved it. It's not enclosed but it's quite isolated so it was no bother. Found a nice walk behind the cottage and up a fire escape between the trees. Feels like you're the only person in earth when you're there! It was chilly so the fire was on and we made it out of the snow for firewood. Place looks magical in the snow! Visited the Knockando distillery which was ace and the legendary Fiddichside Inn. Other than that we just relaxed and the cottage was the perfect place to unwind. And eat. And drink wine.

Thank you to Martina and family for the warm welcome and the tow out of the snow! We'd love to return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha...
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A 5* experience and location”
Reviewed 29 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

What an amazing location and gorgeous cottage!

From the moment we enquired about availability and beyond our check-out this has been a 5* experience! The Speyside Holiday Lettings Team were extremely accommodating to our needs, even arranging for our week's food-shopping to be received prior to our arrival.

We arrived late on Sunday night and Marina guided us to the cottage. Inside we found all our shopping stored away and a lovely warm cottage with all facilities you could need. It wasn't until the morning that we became aware of the unique surrounding in which the cottage is placed! The kids loved running around the big garden and playing boat races on the stream. When they went to sleep all worn out, we got to enjoy the hot-tub bliss under the stars!

A week, filled with hiking, beach walks, whisky tours and delightful open fires just seemed to fly by! We left heavy hearted but smiling - we promise to be back soon!

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiku1896
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago for a stay in July 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moritz H
Eningen unter Achalm, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$161
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing