We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,436)
Filter reviews
1,436 results
Traveller rating
766
405
161
63
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
766
405
161
63
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews paradise village vip breakfast animation team main pool la pergola main restaurant italian and chinese hotel bus rhodes town water sports evening shows guest relations cocktail bar salt water family room per day lovely hotel
Filter
Updating list...
145 - 150 of 1,436 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2017

Stayed for 2 weeks as of 26 July
After a stressful year, last minute change of destination from Kos, long flight delay, lost luggage, taxi driver thinking himself as Greek version of Hamilton Senior..(just to rush back to the apt), 2 and 1/2 women were deposited in the middle of the night at the Aldemar Amilia Mare, on the verge of a nervous breakdown and with eyes popping out of their sockets....
We were immediately impressed with the hotel. Reception took less than 10 mins to check us in. Rooms and bathrooms bright and spacious, air conditioned, large wardrobes and cleaned + fresh towels and water daily.
Various very clean swimming pools and a lovely beach (busy but to be expected in high season) perfect for children and snorkeling. For an extra 10 euros x person, you can choose a variety of restaurant, all of them excellent quality and service, we tried them all.
SPA: Had facial (one of the best ever) and pedicure with Marianna, highly recommended, she is excellent.
Animation team: brilliant, 1/2 woman loved every show, we saw almost all of them.
Rhodes town touristy but charming. Day boat trip to Lindos, we advise you to book your trip with the stand on the front right side of the hotel (a bit more expensive than other stands but worth it), stunning scenery and Lindos incredibly impressive.
LAST BUT NOT LEAST: people are what a place is made of.
A big thank you to all the staff for looking after us. With no exception, all with a positive and highly professional attitude, helpful and always ensuring that guests are able to relax and enjoying their holiday. In particular, a big thank you to Vasilis and his team (Georgios, Aquis and all the others), the place wouldn t be the same without you.
PS: recommend a visit to Panorama restaurant (coffee/lunch, lot of pictures and memorabilia) and speak to Yannis to get a glimpse of Greece modern history and Yannis remarkable lifestory, a legend.
And to the happiness of the management: a great and perfectly run hotel, with outstanding breathtaking views; if we ever go back to Rhodes, we will only stay at the Aldemar Amilia Mare.
Thank you again, 1/2 woman (the sensible one), mama and nuna for a relaxing and joyful holiday. Wishing all of you the very best for the future.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Londoncalling03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
repmgr, Reputation Executive at Aldemar Amilia Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear Londoncalling03,
Thank you for your kind review. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed
your stay with us! We really hope to welcome you again in our hotel, letting us offer you additional and exciting experiences in the Aldemar tradition, with authentic hospitality and memorable moments – something we have provided travellers with for more than twenty years. We wish to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Viktoria Ouroumidou
Reputation Executive
Aldemar Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

We stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks from 19/9/17 and booked it about 2 weeks before travelling. We don't normally like to stay in larger hotels (the details on the First Choice website stated that there were 500 rooms) but as it was a last minute booking there wasn't much choice available so decided to book anyway.

The property is clean and the room we had (in the main hotel building) was a good size and had plenty of storage. The safe was in the wardrobe and there was a fridge also in the room. The bathroom was a good size and had a bath with a shower in it. The rooms are cleaned daily and towels were replaced every day, even when we were happy to reuse them. We arrived late evening and there was a free bottle of wine and some salad left in the fridge for us. The cleaning staff were friendly and helpful.

There are a number of restaurants to eat at during the day offering different choices of food. The main restaurants were typical buffet style all inclusive but the selection was on the whole good. In the evening there are 4 a la carte restaurants to choose from but as we left it to late to book any I can't comment on the food in these. The staff worked hard to clear the tables as quickly as possible and food was constantly being replaced so the full choice was available. The assistant food and beverages manager spent all his time going from one restaurant to another checking the standard on offer and the cleanliness and even helped to clear tables when necessary. He did everything possible to ensure the restaurants and bars ran smoothly. The red wine in the restaurant was awful so I use to drink water.

There are several places to get drinks during the day but in the evening there was only the main bar which got very busy at times and the cocktail bar, which we didn't use. All the bar staff were good but thank you to Andrea and Lefterus that looked after us very well.

We didn't tend to use the pool area much preferring the beach but there did always seem to be sun beds available. The beach is quite narrow and was crowded but we did always manage to find two sunbeds. The sea was cold, which I was surprised at with it being September, but lots of people did go in so maybe it's just me. The sand is very coarse and a grey colour so your feet didn't look clean after being on it. There were plenty of bins available and ash trays for the smokers. I was pleased to note that the majority of people did clear up after themselves.

You can also use all the facilities in the sister hotel next door, including the beach bar, restaurants and main bar. The entertainment was always in the other hotel in the evening and the animation team worked hard both at night and day.

The negative points:-

1. There were not enough toilets available for the size of the hotel and we tended to return to our room rather than use them. Also as Greece does not allow toilet paper to be put in the toilet the bins should have been emptied more often as they were often overflowing and very smelly.
2. Sun beds reserved around the pool and beach and nobody turning up to use them but I suppose we should all be used to this as it's happened for years despite notices that towels will be removed they never are.
3. The season was beginning to wind down by the time we left and a fair number of staff had finished as they were going back to their studies. This did leave restaurants and bars short staffed at times but they seem to have got this sorted within 24 hours.

The supermarket in the hotel ground had good prices and there was a little train that went to Kalithea Springs every morning and a tour of Falaraki in the evening. There is a small charge to use it. There is also a bus that you can take to Rhodes for 6 euros each return.

All in all we had a good holiday and wouldn't rule out returning.

One final point Rhodes does get very windy and a cardigan was needed during the evening at the time we went.

Room Tip: The main building is the most central for all amenities
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank susan50335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
repmgr, Reputation Executive at Aldemar Amilia Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Dear susan50335,
Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel Aldemar Amilia Mare.
Your support gives us the strength to continue our efforts towards guest’s satisfaction as well as the motivation to come up with new creative ideas. We have taken some of your comments and proposals into account in order to make improvements wherever possible.
Let us offer you additional and exciting experiences in the Aldemar tradition, with authentic hospitality and memorable moments – something we have provided travellers with for more than twenty years.

Kind regards,
Viktoria Ouroumidou
Reputation Executive
Aldemar Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

This is truly my honest experience. I booked this hotel through first choice - the pictures on their website only show the main building and not the scale of this whole complex. The beach is crammed and no where near as tranquil the images like you to think, the sand is not really sand and the best way to describe the sea is ..murky. My partner and I were very disappointed upon arrival. Again the images advertised for the room are no where near what we received - we got a very dated, worn and some what dirty room.

The food ... was honestly the worst we have eaten at any all inclusive place. All but maybe 2 meals, were cold or mildly warm. The bread rolls were stale as anything unless you dug right to the bottom. The food was repetitive. We ended up not bothering going to breakfast or lunch and decided to eat elsewhere. For what we spent to stay here, we have stayed in better for less...

The amount of people that have access to your room is extraordinary - twice I was walked in on by the 'water boy' early in the morning when we were having a relaxing lie in ... not impressed. I would not bother trying to have a shower in the morning, the water will be freezing until mid day.

There is no personal care at this hotel for its guests. Reception is very abrupt and you feel like you are bothering them. There is a shop on site, we purchased some Pringles to eat, they were out of date..

The ladies who clean the rooms were very nice and I would highly rate them!

As you can see our experience wasn't very successful, but I hope if you have already booked or are willing to give it a chance, you have a much better time than we did!

Room Tip: You have to book and hope for the best as First Choice's images are very misleading
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EllaLilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
repmgr, Reputation Manager at Aldemar Amilia Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear EllaLilly,
Let me thank you for dedicating time to post your review.
We are happy you mentioned many positive things about our hotel.
Here at Aldemar Amilia Mare we consider all guest comments to be of utmost importance, enabling us to constantly evaluate the level of the services offered and take corrective measures where necessary. To that effect, we would wish you convey to us your comments about the service to email repmgr@aldemar.gr, however, even so, rest assured that all points raised in your review will be thoroughly looked into.
Having said that, we would be delighted to welcome you back in the near future in order for you to verify at first hand that the mishappenings you have experienced are purely coincidental and do not reflect the usual high-level standard of service offered.

With kind regards,
Tamarova Alina
Reputation Manager
Aldemar Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Excellent accomodation. Magnificent view to the sea. Beautiful sandy beach. Great gardens and surroundings. Spacious and clean rooms. Delicious food.Friendly staff. My favourite place to be - I would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
repmgr, Reputation Executive at Aldemar Amilia Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Dear George G,
Thank you very much for making Aldemar Amilia Mare the hotel of your choice and for sharing your experiences with other travellers.
We are happy to see, how much you enjoyed your well-deserved holidays. Your kind words for our team are a big motivation to continue giving just the best to our guests.
It was a big pleasure to welcome you and we are already looking very forward to see you again soon!

Kind regards,
Viktoria Ouroumidou
Reputation Executive
Aldemar Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

Just returned from Amili Mare, and I have to say I had really great vacation. The staff was very professional and kind, the food is good. We visited all a la carte restaurants and enjoyed both beaches.
I definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Larisoula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
repmgr, Reputation Executive at Aldemar Amilia Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Dear Larisoula,
Thank you for staying with us and reviewing us! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Aldemar Amilia Mare, and highly appreciated the hotel’s services and facilities.
We really hope to welcome you again in our hotel, letting us offer you additional and exciting experiences in the Aldemar tradition at one of the Aldemar Resorts in Crete, Rhodes and Western Peloponnese.

Kind regards,
Viktoria Ouroumidou
Reputation Executive
Aldemar Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews