We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We couldn’t fault our stay and will definitely...”
OUR NEW POOL WITH TELESCOPIC ENCLOSURE IS AN OASIS, ENJOY A SWIMM AND RELAX WHATEVER THE WEATHER.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
OUR NEW POOL WITH TELESCOPIC ENCLOSURE IS AN OASIS, ENJOY A SWIMM AND RELAX WHATEVER THE WEATHER.
 Relax and Induldge youself in our Hot Tub / Spa after a good swim, what could be better. The stylish new kitchen/ dining area looks out over the garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
OUR NEW POOL WITH TELESCOPIC ENCLOSURE IS AN OASIS, ENJOY A SWIMM AND RELAX WHATEVER THE WEATHER.
Relax and Induldge youself in our Hot Tub / Spa after a good swim, what could be better.
The stylish new kitchen/ dining area looks out over the garden
Badgers Watch, The balcony is an ideal place to watch wildlife overlooking the back garden
The classic double bedroom has loads of character with cumfy victorian style double bed .
The childrens bedroom has pine  2ft 6in x6ft bunk beds, not suitable for adults,
THE RED ARROW SHOWS OUR LOCATION IN PORTREATH VILLAGE WHICH IS SURROUNDED BY NATIONAL TRUST COUNTRY
Richard and Pamela Christ, Resident owners of Bassets Acre since 1978.
 40 YEARS  WOW !
Bassets acre, Holiday apartments, Portreath, Built in 1827 by Lord de Dunstanville Basset.
OUR GAMES ROOM HAS SOMETHING FOR EVERYONE PLUS A DVD AND BOOK LIBRUARY
Our childrens adventure play area has a sand pit & table tennis
RELAX AND ENJOY OUR LIVELY GARDEN WITH GAS BARBECUE
Table tennis and adventure play area.
Our one acre of sub tropical gardens, A real oasis of tranquility
Rear view of house in an acre of sub tropical gardens
PORTREATH BAY AND HARBOUR LOOKING STUNNING
We are just a short stroll to Portreaths beautiful sandy Beach , Harbour, Shops and great Pubs.
Portreath ,The pepper pot on the cliff, Used for observation, The start of many fantastic cliff walk
Spend happy hours in the rock pools and explore the Portreath caves.
One of many amazing sunsets taken from the deck, Only seen on the north coast.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Portreath, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Marylyn P
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
“We couldn’t fault our stay and will definitely return again.”
Reviewed 5 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We had a wonderful time at Bassets Acre, staying in Badger’s Watch. The apartment had a covered balcony overlooking the beautiful rear garden. Inside it was very clean, light and airy, tastily furnished and decorated and carpeted throughout with a well-furnished kitchen area including a fridge and microwave and dining area to one side. The TV was what you would expect in a holiday apartment (and we didn’t experience any problem with the signal) plus there is a DVD player.

The bedrooms were comfy and cosy, with ample wardrobe and drawer space. The bathroom was light and bright and shower just fine.

In the main house, there was a large games room with a pool table and games machines and plenty of board games, jigsaws and books to borrow if you want. There was also a selection of DVDs available to borrow.

The owners, Richard and Pam, have obviously put their heart into creating a beautiful place (inside and outside) for their guests to stay and couldn’t have been more helpful or friendly – Pam even lent me a swimsuit so I could try out the pool (great with the covered dome) and the hot-tub (great fun).

Unfortunately, the mobile signal in Portreath is limited, but that is not the owner’s fault! We were advised of this and the fact that the wi-fi signal may be intermittent (due to the thickness of the walls of the building and the location) but that was fine.

We certainly had a lovely relaxing and enjoyable holiday and will definitely go back and stay at Bassets Acre again.

Bassets Acre is set off the main road and is lovely and quiet, Portreath is a small, but lovely with a sandy beach and small harbour and lovely walks over the cliffs with Tehidy Park (Woods) just a short drive away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everthing!
Liked least: Nothing everthing was great.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2013
Many thanks for your honest review and are very happy you enjoyed staying here as much as we do. We are always striving to do better and hope our free Wi Fi problem will soon be sorted out. Although Badgers Watch is one of our smaller apartments it is my favourite .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sian71
East Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Tiny, no wi-fi and no phone signal”
Reviewed 15 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I really wanted to like Bassets Acre. It is pretty pricey - we paid just under £1000 for a week in August, so we had high expectations, but unfortunately they weren't met.

The biggest complaint is that there is no wi-fi at all in the apartment - even though Bassets Acre (and Tripadvisor) advertise the accommodation as having wi-fi. I think it's completely wrong to advertise something, knowing that it isn't true. We were told that some people's devices pick it up, whilst others don't. (Absolutely not good enough.) None of our devices (an apple laptop, ipad and iphone) picked up wi-fi, and i see on here that others have had similar experiences. In fact, another holiday maker from a different apartment also couldn't access wi-fi in his apartment and he had to go to the games room to try to pick it up. The games room is a small, dusty, dark room that is unpleasant to spend time in, so that doesn't help matters.

It was also very annoying not having a mobile phone signal the whole time we were there. My partner and I are on different networks and neither of us picked up a signal. I think Bassets Acre should state that this might be the case on their website. For some people a mobile phone signal is essential.

The television was small, and the picture, annoyingly, froze for a few seconds on a quite a few occasions. It was apparent that there is a problem with the digital connection.

The other major problem was the size of the apartment. It is TINY. We felt very cramped and had to keep some of our stuff outside on the balcony as a way of trying to keep the apartment clean. There is a very small sofa and no other living room seating (only chairs for a small breakfast table). In the second bedroom, there is only room for small bunk beds - there is no wardrobe. This bedroom is more of a cupboard than a bedroom! And in the main bedroom there is only just enough space to squeeze round the sides of the bed (if you were large, I think you would have problems).

The shower in the bathroom is weak, and the sink is TINY - it's like one of those very small sinks you sometimes find in a small toilet in a restaurant. It also needs re-decorating.

The fridge, like everything else in the apartment, was very small and so we struggled to squeeze provisions into it and the floor in the kitchen area is carpeted (very odd!).

There is also no washing machine. The information for the property on Tripadvisor implies there is (it says 'washer'). In fact, a 'service wash' at £5 a go (£7 if dried too) is offered. Not good value in my view.

It seems to me that the very high prices charged for this accommodation are because of the outside space. It is great having access to a pool and a hot tub, but even this wasn't quite as nice as I was hoping. The shallow end of the pool isn't very shallow, so not very good for small children, and the water was quite cold. Also, unlike the impression given by the photo on the website, even on very hot days, the dome cover was kept on. The hot tub too could have been hotter.

The gardens and viewing platform other reviewers mention are all very nice. It seems to me quite a lot of thought and money has been invested in the outside space. However, this doesn't make up for the poor quality of the accommodation. I realise nothing can be done about the smallness of Badgers Watch, but a complete re-decoration, sorting out the problems with wi-fi and installing a power shower would help improve things.

At the moment the accommodation really isn't worth the price. I have stayed in far superior apartments in Cornwall for less money. In fact we had a second week in Cornwall and enjoyed a much better, more spacious, beautifully decorated apartment (with a power shower and jacuzzi bath) for more than £200 less than Badger's Watch.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: hot tub
Liked least: the apartment and no wi-fi
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2013
I am absolutely lost for words at this totally unfair review , You must make up your own minds about it !
In February we did a complete makeover on Badgers Watch , which took us 2 months : a completely new kitchen,
New dining table & chairs , Bedrooms redecorated & refurnished with no expense spared, new fitted carpets throughout , and a New shower , The apartment is more than adequate for 2 adults and 2 children and based on £62 for 2 people pn considering all we have here not expensive , As advertised we have in house wifi but not in all the apartments, The pictures on our website are accurate no trick photography !
Our games room is 16ft X 14ft hardly small ! I could go on and on .
We are totally committed to our customers / friends to give the best service and accommodation possible.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita v
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
“Lovely apartment & beautiful gardens”
Reviewed 4 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We stayed in Badgers Watch with 2 13-year-old girls and we all had a great time.
The apartment was small but very nice, with a beautiful view and a lovely balcony.

The swimming pool and hot tub were great, especially for the girls.
We could choose out of 3! barbeques every night, all 3 beautifully located.

What impressed me most was how much care was given to every detail in the house and gardens.
There were lounge chairs everywhere, not cheap white plastic ones, but wooden chairs with cushions! The bbq's were big, new and clean.

We certainly felt very welcome because of all this, not in the least because of Pam and Richard who are friendly, helpfull and relaxed!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The gardens
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2013
Many thanks for you great review it makes all the hard work worthwhile,
its for this reason we have been here 36 years and most of our clientel come back year after year appreciative of what we have achieved ,
Kind Regards
Pamela & Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue Y
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Fabulous Place to Stay!”
Reviewed 30 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We had a fabulous holiday at Bassets Acre. As soon as we arrived, the place had a lovely feel about it. Pam and Richard are very welcoming and so easy to get on with.

There were 4 of us in the Badgers Watch apartment (myself, husband and 2 boys aged 14 and 12). It was very comfortable and had everything we needed. Having the balcony overlooking the gardens was lovely as well as our own staircase to the apartment.

The gardens are fabulous and so tranquil. With the weather being so hot and sunny all week, we were able to have breakfast in the garden in the morning, with only the sound of the water from the stream and birds singing. Bliss!

In the evening we tended to have a BBQ up in the watch tower, which has very comfortable chairs and tables and overlooks the whole bay. We were fortunate to see the most fabulous sunsets from there every evening.

The swimming pool and hot tub were great and often, we had them to ourselves. There is also a games room, which the boys liked and played pool. There are also other games, books and DVDs in there.

All in all, it was a lovely, relaxing week. Pam and Richard have created a wonderful, relaxing environment that will leave you completely chilled at the end of your holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the gardens, watch tower, situation of apartment, Pam & Richard being such lovely people
Liked least: There wasn't anything I didn't like
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your holiday , it means a lot to us to know all of our hard work is not in vain & a joy to meet such lovely like minded people.
Best wishes
Pam & Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renee J
Abingdon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Everything about Bassets is as stated”
Reviewed 20 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

My partner and I stayed in June and the facilities are very good,the apartment is lovely and very clean but the bathroom could probably do with a little updating. The only other minor problem is the space either side of the bed very narrow. Pam and Rich are lovely people and very helpful nothing is to much trouble.We would definitely go back again hopefully this year. Portreath is a lovely little village and an ideal base for visiting most places in Cornwall.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and tranquility
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2013
Thanks you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review ,
Having spent so much time completely redisigning the apartment we were
realy happy you liked it so much.
Best wishes
Pamela & Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing