We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic holiday”
other travellers have booked this property
THE TELESCOPIC ENCLOSURE, SWIMM
AND RELAX WHATEVER THE WEATHER. JUST 4-5 MINUTES WALK TO BEACH, PUBS
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
THE TELESCOPIC ENCLOSURE, SWIMM
AND RELAX WHATEVER THE WEATHER. JUST 4-5 MINUTES WALK TO BEACH, PUBS
Hot tub/  Massage Spa jets, for ultimate relaxation and rejuvenation,  Open all year , THE NEWLY DESIGNED SPACIOUS OPEN PLAN LIVING ROOM HAS LOVELY VIEWS OVER THE VALLEY OF PORTREATH
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
THE TELESCOPIC ENCLOSURE, SWIMM
AND RELAX WHATEVER THE WEATHER. JUST 4-5 MINUTES WALK TO BEACH, PUBS
Hot tub/  Massage Spa jets, for ultimate relaxation and rejuvenation,  Open all year ,
THE NEWLY DESIGNED SPACIOUS OPEN PLAN LIVING ROOM HAS LOVELY VIEWS OVER THE VALLEY OF PORTREATH
THE LOVELY OPEN PLAN LIVING ROOM IS LIGHT AND AIRY WITH LOVELY VIEWS OVER THE POOL AND VALLEY
THE STYLISH BEDROOM HAS A SUPER COMFY BED AND LOOKS OUT TO THE SIDE GARDEN
The newly installed pristine shower room has  quadrant shower ,wc & sink .
Just outside the apartment is a sun terrace , another good place to relax with a good meal .
THE RED ARROW SHOWS OUR LOCATION IN PORTREATH VILLAGE
Richard and Pamela, Resident owners of Bassets Acre since 1978, We are always on hand to help you.
Bassets acre, Portreath, Built in 1827 by Lord Basset .Our six apartments are all in the main house.
Our games room has a pool and football tables, D.V.D and Book libruary, lots of Toys and games
Relax in the garden
Our wonderfull sun tropical garden in the valley looking towards the back of the house is an oasis .
Portreath beach from fishermans point , We have some of the best beaches & walks in Cornwall.
We are but a few minutes walk from Portreaths beautiful sandy beach, patrolled by life guards
The historic Portreath harbour a good place to fish from, great for crabbing or launching your canoe
A fishing trip from Portreath harbour,We caught loads of fish
Airiel picture of  beautiful Portreath, we are half way down on the left.
PORTREATH BAY LOOKING AMAZING
Sun set at Portreath from our deck, it dosent get better than this after a barbecue and a glass of
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Portreath, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nicola J
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Fantastic holiday”
Reviewed 10 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We have just returned from 2 weeks holiday at Bassett Acres, Portreath staying in Sea whisper apartment. It is our third visit and once again we were made very welcome by Pam and Richard. The apartment was very clean and beautifully furnished and has everything you need for a good holiday. It was lovely sitting in the sunny conservatory in the evenings having a cold drink. The pool was lovely very warm both in the water and when you get out with the bubble making it very warm even when the sun is not shining.the gardens are fantastic with plenty of places to sit and enjoy the peace and quiet and if you have the energy to climb to the top of the garden you get a lovely view of Portreath as the sun goes down We are returning in September.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: See my review
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Apr 2016
Thank you for a lovely review, we will keep up the good work.
Regards
Pam & Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenus74
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed 7 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Pam and Richard are very friendly couple. She welcomed me on arrival and also gave some good tips about nice restaurants in Portreath.
Lovely place to be and very clean. The hot tub was a real treat. We will surely come back again.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review , it means alot to us and are always trying hard to make things even better each year.
Best wishes
Pam & Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith B
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just a blissful place that has everything”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This was our third year at Bassets Acre and we are already planning for next year. An excellent abode which is immaculate. The gardens are beautiful, barbecues galore, pool and hot tub. You could not wish for anymore. Pam and Richard give us such a welcome and we often sit with them in the garden with a cup of tea. Faultless and pure heaven!!!!!!!!!

How easy was it to book the property?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2014
Thank you so much for your great review , with so many returning guests /friends we try even harder to make the next visit even better than the last,
its not easy after 37 years but we seem to manage !
Our very best wishes
Pam & Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter B
Surrey uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Marvellous and friendly”
Reviewed 8 November 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

This was my second stay at Basset Acres and it was just a lovely as the first. Pam and Richard make you feel welcome from the minute you arrive. The flat I stayed in was delightful and perfect for a couple or single person. It is fully equipped with everything you might need to make you stay comfortable. The bed is comfortable and the newly refurbished shower wonderful. It is a peaceful setting perfect for quiet reading and relaxing with an extensive garden and during the summer months a swimming pool, or pleasant walks around the village. My stay was early autumn when it is a little quieter.
Basset Acres is just a short walk from shops, a marvelous bakery, Chinese takeaway and friendly local pub (the Basset Arms)and the Tideline cafe that both serve excellent food. It is friendly traditional seaside village. Everyone makes you feel welcome.The beach is beautiful and perfect for families or solo travelers. Portreath is only a short drive from the A30 which leads you on to all the major tourist attractions. I imagine that in the summer holidays it is just as wonderful for families with small children who are looking for the traditional bucket and spade holiday.
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and could not recommend it enough. I shall be going back very soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review ,
Kind regards
Pam & Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne B
Upminster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Staying at Bassets Acre, Portreath”
Reviewed 4 November 2012 for a stay in October 2012

We stayed for a week in No. 5 Badgers Watch, the apartment is on the first floor on the corner of the main house facing the garden with an outside balcony (useful for wet clothing or in our case mountain bike gear). Apartment feels like your very own tree house, very private. It is tastefully decorated, I loved the tree wallpaper in our daughter's room, and the beds were comfortable. We had a bath & shower and were able to entertain family for an evening meal, cooking facilities are adequate. The games room and hot tub were both sampled and enjoyed....albeit a touch chilly this time of year running from tub to apartment - not for the faint hearted! There is a parking space for each apartment and you are in a great location for beach, cliff walks and mountain biking. Village also has a great bakery, local shop, chinese take-away and several pubs, all easy walking distance from the apartments. We really enjoyed our stay here...next time we'll try out the pool in the summer season. p.s. cafe tip - The Atlantic on the right-hand side of the car park, does a tasty lunch, good vegetarian options and a nice atmosphere.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, being upstairs, quietness of area.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing