We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (207)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveller rating
167
33
3
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
167
33
3
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river gas fire conference room grape vines conference venue tennis courts minute drive main bedroom living area swimming pool room layout washing machine and dryer fully equipped kitchen comfortable beds saturday morning nice deck wedding guests
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 207 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2016

Finished my trip to New Zealand here, best decision I made for that trip. Our trip was so fast-paced that it was nice to slow it down a bit and come here and relax do a little kayaking and just sit back on the deck with a glass of wine while watching the sun set. The rooms were fantastic, clean and well kept.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Thank KatKenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2016

My brother and his wife (from the Netherlands) were touring the North Island and we joined their 2 nights at Riverside, Matakana with excellent, roomy accommodation in a very nice environment. Spotless place, nice staff. Thank you.

Stayed: March 2016
Thank jmandjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2016

Attended a day and a half work conference at Riverside. Just over an hours drive from central Auckland, yet really gave the sense of being away from it all. The venue is surrounded by rolling green hills, a river and some grape vines. The room set up for the conference was more than big enough for a group of 12 people and had good facilities. The food options were really good and the fridge with a full range of drinks - coffee, juices, beer and wine, was a bonus. We enjoyed relaxing with a wine/beer on the large deck overlooking the vines at the end of the day. The venue can recommend good local restaurants for lunch and dinner and even had the dinner from The Market Kitchen billed back to them. The modern 'baches', with two bedrooms each with own bathroom, were extremely well presented with neat kitchen, study, and lounge including gas fire. Beds were comfortable and bathrooms were large and included washer and dryer. Highly recommend for a conference or just a weekend getaway.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Catadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2016

We decided to take our teen and her friend away for the last 5 days of the school holidays. This was the prefect place to do it. Riverside really is a bach, not a hotel situation. The staff and manager are really lovely, the location stunning na the bach has everything you need. We could have taken another couple as there are two queen beds and a sleep out for two kids. It was clean, well serviced, organised and the facilities and surrounds are great. we could day trip and have great experiences within a 20 minute or less drive, and this provided the base we needed. The pool was great for the kids, we played tennis, and the Matakana Village provides all the supplies you need to stock up.

Stayed: April 2016
Thank peggy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2016

We stayed for 3 nights with our son, daughter-in-law and 6 and 4 year old Grandsons, whilst visiting from the UK. We all had a wonderful time and the little boys keep asking if we can return. The weather was mixed but there is plenty to do if unable to use the swimming pool, which the boys wanted to do all the time. The accommodation was perfect for us all. Clean, comfortable, good kitchen and we were able to BBQ - excellent food from the Saturday market. Suggest going early as it gets very busy.

We only had one slight worry in that the annexe for the children is across the decking from the main accommodation. We got around it by adults using the annexe, in case the children awoke in the night and wandered out. No problem for older children.

The cinema in Matakana is also a plus, which we resorted to one very wet morning.

We would not hesitate to recommend this beautiful location with it's stunning views and will definitely return on our next visit to the family in NZ.

Room Tip: Higher up to get the views.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank gillyandkeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews