We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place ”
Review of Riverside Matakana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riverside Matakana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2016 via mobile

We (me, my wife and our three year old boy) stayed here for 5 nights and absolutely loved it. Incredible location equidistant to Omaha Beach, Warkworth and just about everywhere else you might want to go. The accommodation is modern, minimal and sits perfectly in the private and beautiful natural environment. Thanks Michael for looking after us- we'll be back again.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
Thank Cmjct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 45 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2016 via mobile

What an amazing property, set amongst its own vineyard this property will take your breath away upon arrival. Our Bach was at the bottom of the property only 3min stroll to the tennis court and pool. Fabulous with 2 toddlers as we were able to kick a ball outside our Bach. The view from the others up the hill is amazing looking out over the property and the estuary so would get amazing sunsets. Could just imagine a wine on the deck at that time.
The pool was fabulous, heated to 30deg we spent hours in it each day, sometimes just on our own even though at full occupancy. There are free kayaks to hire also.
The Bach itself was warm and cozy, great amenities and supplies incl paper towels, plastic storage containers, salt and pepper, a Webber BBQ to cook on and plenty of utensils. The washing machine and dryer an absolute bonus
The staff are more than accommodating and very friendly, nothing is a problem.
Is only a short drive to Matakana and beautiful beaches, nice to go back to the serenity after a day exploring.
Could not recommend this place enough.... We will definitely go back.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
Thank ameliag816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2016

Such a lovely surprise that the baches as they call the units were so spacious and everything had been thought of. Spotlessly clean and the beds were amazing. Definitely recommend to either a couple of family and each unit had its own privacy. Such a beautiful setting and out weekend couldn't have been better. We will definitely come again.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eileen and Rob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2016

I was very impressed with this stay, the units are situated in the middle of the vineyard so the outlook is lovely, there's even a pool. The units are a really good size and have been really well thought out, it was great to have a bathroom for each bedroom, and the kitchen area was perfect and had all we needed. A shame the weather wasn't better as it would have been lovely to use the large deck and bbq, but it had a fireplace inside and I could imagine escaping for a lovely weekend in the middle of winter here, I'll look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ayejay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2016

Fabulous, well appointed, tastefully decorated villas in a beautiful vineyard setting. Kids loved the pool, tennis court and spacious grassy areas. Other times they have enjoyed the kayaks and fishing. In the evening, it's so cosy having a gas fire and during the day there is a great indoor outdoor flow. It's unique and an absolute favourite place for us to holiday. All less than an hours drive from Auckland! All the staff are obliging and helpful and I can't rate this place highly enough, it's a real gem.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank M881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matakana
28.3 km away
Whangaparaoa Lodge
Whangaparaoa Lodge
#1 of 2 in Whangaparaoa
350 reviews
3.6 km away
Matakana Motel
Matakana Motel
#1 of 1 in Matakana
149 reviews
3.7 km away
The Salty Dog Inn
The Salty Dog Inn
#1 of 2 in Snells Beach
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Tahi Lodge - Matakana Coast
Tahi Lodge - Matakana Coast
#1 of 1 in Snells Beach
41 reviews
3.5 km away
Takatu Lodge & Vineyard
Takatu Lodge & Vineyard
#2 of 9 in Matakana
74 reviews
5.4 km away
Sugarloaf Lodge
Sugarloaf Lodge
#4 of 9 in Matakana
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Matakana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Matakana

Address: 170 Green Road, Matakana, Auckland 0985, New Zealand (Formerly Quest Matakana)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Matakana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Matakana
Price Range: €159 - €192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverside Matakana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of 2015 Tripadvisor Excellence Award. Just one hour from Auckland and located 5 mins from Matakana Village. 17 luxury Kiwi baches set on 30 acres of vineyard, olive groves and landscaped grounds, this is a beautiful property in the heart of Matakana wine country on the doorstep to one of NZ's stunning coasts. Facilities are many and include, swimming pool, tennis and petanque courts, private boat ramp & jetty, with an abundance of park like grounds to enjoy. Or simply enjoy the expansive views from the North-West facing decks. Baches are based on the "iconic kiwi bach,"each with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, spacious living areas, BBQ and full kitchen with everything provided. Riverside Matakana is a place where you can truly get away from it all, whether for a a romantic escape, corporate retreat, family holiday, or to explore the many activities and attractions of the Matakana region. The newly renovated and expanded Conference Lodge is now a fully featured, brilliant space, suitable for executive teams, strategy meetings, sales conferences, or as a venue for any event or special occasion. The Lodge has all the latest technology installed, complete with sheltered courtyard, breakout spaces, onsite catering provided by our caterer, with massive decks with views across the property and Matakana Valley. Riverside Matakana is the perfect place to relax, restore and retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Riverside Matakana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Matakana Hotel Matakana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing