We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great start to the holiday”
Review of The Racehorse Inn

The Racehorse Inn
Ranked #4 of 55 Restaurants in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Very friendly, very helpful and lovely atmosphere. just wish we could have made it more often Food was lovely and staff really pleasant

1  Thank phitch29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Racehorse I, General Manager at The Racehorse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2018

Anytime you are close feel free to pop in and see us we are open for lunch and dinner! Thanks for the review glad you enjoyed it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 55 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2018

My family and i had an evening here for a (belated) birthday meal. Very friendly staff and Landlord in a cosy pub serving excellent food. Landlord was very jolly and helpful which gave us all a very enjoyable evening enjoying well cooked and presented food. I can highly recommend this pub in a quiet little village go and have a fab time enjoying good food and cosy atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Foxym19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Racehorse I, General Manager at The Racehorse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2018

It is so good to hear about it, when people really enjoy themselves- this is our aim and I am delighted you enjoyed your albeit belated birthday! Thanks for letting us know it is so good to get this type of feedback- thanks again and see you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

We live in Cornwall but booked a dine and stay package to save having to drive home that night. This was our second visit having previously enjoyed an excellent lunch there. The package included a three course meal and breakfast the next morning. Our room was lovely and comfortable and nicely presented with a lovely beamed ceiling. The meal was excellent, a gourment delight. Our breakfast the next morning was home cooked with good quality fresh local produce. I would thoroughly recommend the Racehorse Inn and we will be visiting again very soon.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank foodfanatic59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Racehorse I, General Manager at The Racehorse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2018

More people should take advantage of our £135 DBB "Wine dine and sleep" offer as you obviously did. Why drive home when both of you can enjoy the whole evening, a lovely walk through our unspoiled countryside after a hearty breakfast. Well done!
Delighted to hear you enjoyed it so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

Live half an hour away from pub so explored this proper lovely country pub.
Friendly staff, food is cooked fresh so it not a quick pub meal but a place to enjoy slowly
Plenty of parking and dog friendly
Booked table for 5 friends and every
One cleared their plates starters and mains, puddings needed sharing
Local beers with some nice lagers inc Dortmunder.
I had Scollops with black pudding and bacon❤️
Then the fabulous Sunday roast beef. Don’t normally rave about food
But this pub deserves to be shared

1  Thank kimberley jane i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Racehorse I, General Manager at The Racehorse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2018

Thanks for that! Yes our Sunday Roast is a bit different, quality meats and the normal menu to enjoy starters and home made puds.
Glad you understand that fresh food does take time to prepare and cook and then serve! Many dont get it but we are not about fast food but like you said a place to enjoy slowly. Great review thanks. See you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2018 via mobile

We arrived with a really nice greeting. Was seated near the fire which was lovely. Very nice and cosy. Would highly recommend this place, food is absolutely delicious, very tasty and very well presented.

Thank suebucko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Racehorse I, General Manager at The Racehorse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2018

Thank you the Buxton family. Glad you enjoyed the real fire and , what we think is a warm welcome! see you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Racehorse Inn also viewed

Launceston, Cornwall
Launceston, Cornwall
 
Launceston, Cornwall
 

Been to The Racehorse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing