We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (151)
Filter reviews
151 results
Traveller rating
102
27
10
9
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
102
27
10
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews schnitzel save room a family run business cabbage rolls making plans whitefish fire pit lawn chairs gravel road austrian german wonderful meal spent two nights sault ste motorcycle trip rooms are clean and comfortable homemade jams french toast
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 151 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2017

We spent three nights there and we were sorely disappointed. We had a studio with kitchenette which seemed highly priced for the area. No other "resorts" around so we expected something special for the money. It was old, dark and tired. Cobwebs in the corners, no hand towels and the bath towels were hard and scratchy. We were floored that for three days housekeeping did not come by once to pick up trash or offer linens. There were only two outlets in the whole place so we had to unplug lights to charge our phones. No outlets in the bathroom at all. Breakfast was extra, and expensive. The site is fabulous with gorgeous views of Lake Superior, but we couldn't wait to get out of there and on to the next leg of our trip.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Martha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

What a relief to find this tranquil, lovely place--after contending with substandard motels in Sault Saint Marie.
Peaceful and relaxing is the best description I can give, after lying in bed with the sliding glass doors open, listening to the gentle waves lapping against the shoreline. When is the last time you have felt safe enough to leave the door/window unlocked?
The sunset was gorgeous. The rooms were spotless and charming. The proprietors were so nice and accommodating. A place to spend a week, if I had planned this vacation better.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank cmmc54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

We stayed in a spacious studio with a full stove and oven, a queen size bed and an ample size washroom. Mostly we made our own food but the restaurant is well worth a visit. We would consider going there just for the restaurant if we were in the area. The staff are all eager to please. This is not a luxury resort but may be the top of the line for north of Superior.

Room Tip: Rooms/suites further away from the office/breakfast area have fewer cars and people going past.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theredchilipepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

My wife and I spent two nights at the Salzburger Hof Resort and we were very happy with the hospitality. Regrettably we had to leave a day early due to plans changing back at home. It was our first time being in the L. Superior region and we were certainly not disappointed. The staff at the resort, whom I'd like to thank for their help and kindness, did a tremendous job making us feel comfortable and giving us a local point of view of the surrounding attractions. The food was also great, especially the fish fry the night we arrived. The french toast and fresh fruit is a must try. Our room was a single queen motel style room which was full of cabin character, comfortable and very clean. When I have a chance to return I would probably book the single room with the kitchenette for convenience. A beautiful view of the lake from your door is the cherry on top. The local area and provincial parks are a must see with a beautiful, breathtaking scenery and many attractions and hiking trails. The Salzburger Hof offers you an awesome location to experience L. Superior either relaxing on the grounds or taking a day and driving up the coast. We will for sure try and be back in the future!

Room Tip: Rooms with a kitchenette are better if you want to save a little money and cook for yourself.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BonzoKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

Spent 2 nights this week with an old friend who introduced me to this place that held special memories for her. I loved it! If you are looking for luxury and bling, keep driving. If you cherish natural beauty and Lake Superior, good food and clean, comfortable rooms, stop in. :-) This is a family business, not some glitzy corporate operation. No fake smiles and slick sales jobs! Instead, you are welcomed with quiet warmth and hospitality-you can sense the pride, love and caring that this family brings to their work. They treat their guests with respect and were so kind and helpful during our stay. I felt completely relaxed here--it's an oasis of peace, natural splendor mixed with old-fashioned hospitality. Dinner portions are generous; the goulash soup delicious -I begged for more and managed to come back to the states with a pint to savor this weekend. Breakfasts were simple and very good, especially the French Toast and the homemade strawberry rhubarb jam. This is a lovely place for families, couples, single travelers looking for beauty, serenity and quiet good times. Well, not TOO quiet--there's plenty of space, outdoor grill and fire pits for folks to enjoy. I'm coming back!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank mbwgaylord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karenBatchawanaBay, Manager at Lake Shore Salzburger Hof Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

What a wonderful review you gave us! A big thank-you to your friend for introducing you to Batchawana Bay and choosing our resort as your base to explore the area. Our family meets so many wonderful people such as yourselves and that is what makes working here not a job but another great day to look forward to. We are so happy that we were able to make your stay here with us one to remember and we hope that you come back real soon! Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews