We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just about OK” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yercaud - Rock Perch, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Yercaud - Rock Perch, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ranked #7 of 27 Hotels in Yercaud
Certificate of Excellence
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just about OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

I am a sterling member and went to the resort with high expectations.. Yes, the location is amazing and gives you a mind-blowing view of the valley but thats about it. The room and bathroom could do with a lot of improvement. Carpet was stained and the balcony was also pretty dirty. The room is otherwise functional. Flat screen TV with all channels; clean towels and bed-spread.

As a member i paid a nominal amount as utility charge for the room. Enquired about the tariff for non-members and was shocked when the reception guy quoted more than 5300 bucks for the room (called "regular" in sterling parlance... basically 2 balconies, 1 bedroom and 1 dining room) i stayed in. i guess the basic tariff for just 1 room (like a hotel) wud be in the range of 4000 atleast.. which is pretty costly considering thats more than what GRT, Yercaud charges.

Food was very good, they had a good offer for members where a couple can have both breakfast and (either) lunch/ dinner for 700 bucks, which i thought was reasonable. Staff were pretty courteous too.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank myhideout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    149
    67
    17
    13
See reviews for
219
77
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thrissur, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

This was our first trip after having children.Myself ,my wife and 2 kids started to yercaud on oct 25 2010 by train and got down at Salem took a car and reached up at yercaud about 20 km from Salem.
We were given a warm welcome in the sterling resort at Lady's seat which was a bit far from the heart of township.We checked in very soon and were happy to see the studio apartment which was very neat .All the apartments were having separate balconies giving a beautiful view of the valley.The apartment were at different levels so that there is no disturbance from any other occupants near by. After having a nice sleep at the resort we had our food from the restt.I would say it was only average.
As the apartment had a kitchenette and everything was available for cooking in the store,it was a mans cooking day.I made bulls eye and bread with omlettes for the kids and had breakfast {.which we all felt very enjoyable} After the days sight seeing and having lunch out, we came back in the evening made our dinner....chappathies and potato curry .. ooh nice.
The park is well maintained where children had fun.There was a campfire & other activities as there were a lot of people in the resort during the evening
POSITIVES : Location is too good ,staff very cooperative and activities upto the standard., not too costly
NEGATIVES: Restaurant was bad. Be careful about the monkeys as the may get into the room if u keep the door open

Room Tip: almost all rooms are alike and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank UDAYAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Positives :

The strength of the Sterling Resorts,Yercaud is it's location! It has been built on the edge of a cliff overlooking the slope of the mountain and a part of the Salem city. Every room in this hotel opens to this view and it is tremendous.. They have a nice kids Play area.

Negatives :

Beware of Monkeys... They will use your room / cottage entrance as their bath-room and they will try catch your food (ofcource).

The rooms should be managed in a better manner.. Its looks very dirty (because of monkeys)...

Complementary coffee/tea / cookies were not found.

Room Tip: The rooms should be managed in a better manner.. Its looks very dirty
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kalaignar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

Resort is in nice location, but unfriendly staff and horrible room condition. They made me wait for 1.5 hrs to give junk room. I booked for superior room through makemytrip but they gave me standard room there. It had broken floor, broken bathroom door knob, tv was not working, towels very dirty. I asked them to change room, but they said there are none. Staff were very rude and inspite of asking for their resort manager, no one came to meet me.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chinthan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kolkata
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

I visite Yercaud sterling resorts in july 2011. It is a lovely property with a specticular view .
The apartments were good.The monkeys were added attraction.We really enjoyed the stay there and it was a complete relaxing holiday.The activity area was under renovation which was missed in the evening. the rain in the evening was a welcome and the sound of rain was an enjoyable affair.The massage at the spa was good.The food was o.k..It ws nioce that they are taking reovation work in phases which will add to its beauty.Any way a perfect holiday at sterling yercaud.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rajivsudha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yercaud hotels
2.6 km away
Grand Palace Hotel & Spa Yercaud
1.9 km away
Hotel Shevaroys
Hotel Shevaroys
#13 of 27 in Yercaud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
1.5 km away
TGI Star Holidays Yercaud
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
LA Four Seasons
LA Four Seasons
#3 of 27 in Yercaud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
2.1 km away
La Flora Paradise Residency
0.0 km away
Golden Nest Resorts
Golden Nest Resorts
#10 of 27 in Yercaud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yercaud - Rock Perch, A Sterling Holidays Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yercaud - Rock Perch, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Property: Yercaud - Rock Perch, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Address: PB No. 11, Lady's Seat Road, Yercaud 636601, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Yercaud
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 27 Hotels in Yercaud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Yercaud - Rock Perch, A Sterling Holidays Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sterling Holidays Rock Perch sits atop the mighty Shevaroy Hills, overlooking lush coffee gardens, the Mettur Dam and Salem City. It is located at a vantage point in the Servarayan Hills, surrounded by the serene and aromatic ambiance of coffee and spice plantations. Almost 4,700 feet above sea level, the nearby Yercaud Lake adds a scenic charm and tranquility to this jewel in the Sterling Holidays crown. Key tourist spots are a walking distance from the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Yercaud - Rock Perch, A Sterling Holidays Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing