We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tarraleah Estate
Nearby Hotels
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Tarraleah Lodge(Tarraleah)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveller rating
35
15
3
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
35
15
3
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsart decohot plates and microwavehighland cowsducks and geeseunlike anythinghydro electricitythe pubphone receptionwood firehighlander armsair conditioningcomfortable stayweddinglodgehobartlookoutwalks
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 58 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2015

We stayed in one of the Lakeside Villas to break the journey from Strahan to Hobart. It was clean and well presented inside with plenty of space for parking. The kitchen was well set up for self catering but since we were only there for one night ate at the Highlander Arms Tavern for dinner (excellent). There was a separate lounge room with large TV, good sized bathroom and a queen bedroom.
Unlike many places we have stayed in during this Tasmanian trip there were fly screens and air conditioning. If staying for longer the only problem would be the lack of any hanging space for clothing in the bedroom.

Staff were very friendly and helpful, giving good advice about places to visit the following day. Also an interesting walk around the extensive grounds and an informative display explaining the connection to hydro-electricity.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MargD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2015

We stopped at Tarraleah only for one night, after 2.5 hours drive from Hobart. We booked one of the 3 bedroom Art Deco Cottage and this was one of the best accommodation of our trip. Great value for the price and excellent restaurant.

It is a beautiful 1930's cottage restored, facing the valley. It felt warm, clean and we could see the 'attention to details' with the way the room have been prepared. I cannot wait to book this cottage again and use the fire-place in winter!

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2015

By chance we stopped off here. First of all, because we were tired of driving and needed a cup of coffee. We stopped off at the café and had the best ever cake/patisserie of our whole trip and a Latte to accompany it. We saw the sign for accommodation and enquired within. I said to my husband that if the quality of what we just had is the quality of accommodation, it would be the right place to nestle down for the night. There were cottages available (they looked very cosy and elegant), but we decided for a room at the lodge, without going to have a look at it first. We took the all-in plan, which includes accommodation, spa tub, breakfast and a choice of two courses at the pub and a bottle of wine. The lodge, which has nine rooms, is just astounding beautiful, simple and elegant and offers a choice of over a hundred different bottles of whiskey for those lovers. The rooms are so spacious and elegant, the bathroom a ballroom with floor heating and heated towel racks, shower and bath tub. They had background music playing in the living areas and also the radio and heating was on in the room. You really felt welcome. You could have a warming fire, if weather permitted. The living room of the lodge is so comfortable and inviting. The outside gardens are well manicured and maintained with a lovely view. Should you stay there, you must read through the information folder - written with wit and very informative. Dinner (at the pub) was delicious and beautifully served, the house wine was very good, too (Tasmanian) - so was breakfast(at the café). All the staff were very helpful and kind. Pity we could not stay longer. A perfect place to hideaway for a few days or use as a base for outings. Must be great for a wedding or company workshops. We hope we can come again one day and will definitely stay longer.

Room Tip: I would think that any accommodation here would be just perfect.
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ursula P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2015

My partner and and I along with a group of friends stayed for a couple of nights and we had a fantastic time. The cottage was really cosy, with a lot of character and I had the best sleep ever. There was a great view to wake up with and some walks in the bush/forest that a quite enjoyable as a post feast lunch activity. The food is good, the staff are very nice. Recommended for a break and a travel back in time.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank r2EIp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2015

I recently stayed at Tarraleah with my wife and little baby. We were there for a friends wedding. This place is like a trip back in time - secluded, relaxed, rejuvinating. Great accomodation, very good food and drink. Fantastic range of accomodation for all budgets. We hope to get back someday!

Room Tip: The lodge is amazing.....splash out!
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank ShoeyShoemack84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews