We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good insight into local history ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glencolmcille Folk Village

Glencolmcille Folk Village
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A replica of a coastal thatched cottage village that offers a glimpse at life as it was lived in Glencolmcille in past centuries.We will teach you a couple of phrases in Gaelic.Our Amenities includes 6 thatched cottages with original artifacts depicting different era's.a Craft shop which promotes a big range of local crafts.Our Tea House has a variety of Home Baked Goods,Soup,Sandwiches,Paninis,Irish Coffees etc.We are located at a beautiful beach with stunning views of the wild atlantic.We hope to re-open our much loved Nature walk at the back of The Folk Village later this year.Call in for a mug of Tae the Kettle is always on.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A good insight into local history ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

This is an interesting attraction, demonstrating the history of the local area. The exhibit is well kept and full of information. A guide book is provided to allow you to read about each display as you walk through the old village. Definitely worth a visit if in the area. There's a nice gift shop too.

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    75
    13
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“A great insight & good soup”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

The Glencolmcille Folk village is a great insight of how families have lived and worked over the generations. A great testament to the area. Plenty of artefacts, posters, literature and projected images & videos.
As a bonus the is the ever present gift shop and tea room - we enjoyed a lovely bowl of homemade soup.

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
2 Thank olibot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit to the Folk Village”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2016

While travelling around Ireland we liked to learn about the history of the various places and the Folk Village provided a great view into the past. The cottages were well presented and very informative. The school house reminded me of my early child hood in a country town in Australia. We had those exact desks and the ink wells. I recall getting the ink over my clothes which my mother was not very pleased with. The kitchen dresser (wall cabinet) was in most houses. Of course the buildings with the thatched roofs were quite different to what we had. The colourful gardens around the village were well maintained. The village is set in a beautiful setting at the seaside. Had a lovely lunch at the café sitting outside in the sun. The Village is well worth a visit

Visited July 2016
Helpful?
Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

It was a bit hard to find as there are not enough signs and its very easy to get lost in the rural roads but once we got there it was lovely. A few houses on a small land which made it very compact but interesting enough

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
Thank globtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“People's history - so much in a small space”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2016

Glencolmcille Folk Village consists of approximately 7 buildings that show the evolution of buildings in Donegal County over the past 250 years or so. And in doing so, you learn about the people who would have lived or worked or gone to school in the area. There are many descriptions that explain how various tools were used by the residents or fishers or farmers, as well as where the family would have slept. The evolution of the closed chimney, for example, and heating food over the hearth are things we take for granted yet had to be learned over time.

There was a nice gift shop with knitted woolens, among other things. There is also a tea room that we did not visit.

A map of Ireland made of different rock from each of the country's counties is a new installation in the parking lot across the street.

If you use the GPS to get there and think you're in the wrong place because you don't see a village, do not worry. It's probably right beside you. Look for the flags and you'll know you're in the right place.

Visited September 2016
Helpful?
Thank Zanna456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Glencolmcille Folk Village also viewed

Carrick, County Donegal
Donegal Town, County Donegal
 
Ardara, County Donegal
 

Been to Glencolmcille Folk Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing