We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“heartbreakingly beautiful”

Review of Dun Marie

Dún Marie
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dún Marie
Dún Marie from the beach The stunning view from Dún Marie
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Dún Marie
Dún Marie from the beach
The stunning view from Dún Marie
Outside view
Sitting room
Kitchen. Refurbished for 2015
Kitchen
Kitchen
Bathroom. Refurbished for 2013
Bedroom No. 1
Bedroom No. 2
Bedroom No. 3
Dining room
View of Dún Marie
Slieve League cliffs
Path to beach
Rough seas at Port
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Glencolmcille, County Donegal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
pizzuti20...
Morton, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“heartbreakingly beautiful”
Reviewed 21 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This is a loved home that you feel grateful to be invited in. Mary and Brendan are so kind and accommodating. The rooms have beautiful linens, gorgeous views over the cove. The living room has a great fireplace where i sat many nights watching a peat fire while lisitening to the waves crash below. The kitchen is so new with such great appliances, we cooked feasts and sat at the dining room table watching the sunsets over the water. The town and the pubs are a stroll away, and the people are fun and inviting. The walk up to glen head is an easy reach. There's no need to go any further than the Glen.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: pretending I lived there
Liked least: That I didn't
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 May 2015
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time in Glen and Dún Marie and hope to welcome you back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arlette12...
Howell, New Jersey
1 review
“The most perfect spot imaginable.”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

I booked a two week stay this summer to attend Oideas Gael. The cottage is very comfortable with the most spectacular views that included glorious sunsets over Glen Bay and rainbows at times over the Glen. The cottage itself is in a garden surrounded by flowers that includes an ancient cross-pillar. There are birds everywhere. Oideas Gael, the Folk Village and the village itself is just a short, lovely scenic walk away. The owner and her daughter see to it that you are well taken care of. I booked for next year before I left-it made it easier to leave.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2014
Thank you for the kind review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay at Dún Marie and look forward to seeing you again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
199hummin...
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“a touch of heaven”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

As we drove along the coast road following Mary's excellent directions, we could not believe the position of the cottage - absolutely perfect! Nestled in a private and spectacular setting, with its own private beach.
The cottage is fully enclosed which was perfect for our dog - he loved it too.
When we got inside we were greeted by Mary putting fresh flowers in a vase for us and her greeting was so warm.
The facilities were more than adequate and the views from nearly every room were spectacular.
We will be booking again and thoroughly recommend it

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and overall location
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2014
Thank you so much for the lovely review. I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Dún Marie and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeclanW81
Ireland
1 review
“Beautiful, Tranquil, homely, welcoming”
Reviewed 18 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

My family and I first visited Dun Marie in August 2012, and each of us instantly fell in love with the place. We were driving along the roadway and there it was, Dun Marie, in a position and a view most can only dream of, and that was enough, I love the place! We came back this year 10-17 August, and we werent disappointed. The property is meticulously clean, tidy, very homely and welcoming, the views are breathtaking, my niece (9 years old) and i (32) stood for hours watching a pod of dolphins swim in the bay. Located perfectly for beaches; two of which are accessible on foot a short walking distance and a few moments walk from the folk village, the village shops, pubs and RC Church are also in ten minutes walking distance in reasonably good terrain. I believe the Church of Ireland Church which would be a good fifteen minute walk. The owner is a lovely lady, and very welcoming. People with physical difficulty and elderly a car is recommended, also those with small children who wish to branch out and explore.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: If you want a week of total relaxation and simplicity with sights as magnificent as you will find the world over!
Liked least: I cant possibly find anything to write here.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Feb 2014
Thank you for the lovely review. So glad you enjoyed your time at Dún Marie.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing