We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“What a find- and right on the doorstep!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bombay Bistro

Bombay Bistro
Ranked #2 of 11 Restaurants in Clane
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: no more info available, but fabulous food in this restaurant
Dublin
Level Contributor
130 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“What a find- and right on the doorstep!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

Having had a very bad experience some 30 years ago I had not touched an Indian restaurant. However, living in Clane the selection of eateries is small and so on the recommendation of friends and work colleagues I took the plunge there a few weeks ago and went along with the other half for dinner. Wow, wow, wow!!!!
Do not let the exterior put you off. The place is small and compact but spotless. I am converted, no glup, no stodge; real Indian cuisine with fresh flavours, great choice and amazing value.
What's more, with one son who has to carry an Epipen eating out can be a pain. The owner and his wife are both strict vegetarians and once we noted our needs they ensured all his food was prepared carefully and there were no issues.
So we are now haunting the place and there are still a large number of dishes to try so we'll not be bored.
Keep up the good work guys. The one downside to the great reviews is that it will soon become impossible to get a seat at our favourite local Indian!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Geraldine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    27
    5
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Clane, Ireland
1 review
“Best Restaurant you will find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

Simply put, Bombay Bistro is the best restaurant you will find. The food is consisently superb and the staff are so friendly. In six years of frequent dining, we have never had a bad experience and everything about it as second to none. Well done, Noelle, Amal and Khan: you're the best!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank colette m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kildare
Level Contributor
131 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“I don't go often enough!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012 via mobile

I live in Clane and I have to say I've gone to Bombay bistro once for an in-house meal and it was fab. I get takeaways regularly as a treat and it's always gorgeous. No other Indian restaurant compares to this one as it is so reasonably priced and also the food and service is out on its own.
I would love a night out in Bombay Bistro soon!!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank galwaygirl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place, excellent food and friendly efficient service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

We have eaten in this restaurant on numerous occasions and it Never fails to disappoint. Great value with the 35 euro special as you get to choose from the entire menu and the wine is a decent. We are always made very welcome and cant recommend this little gem enough.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank djking197575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edenderry, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Never judge a book by it's cover!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

If you are to judge a restaurant by it's presentation and interior or even exterior, you would probably end up going to the chipper in Clane before heading into Bombay Bistro, however, don't be fooled by that on this occasion as the food is top class and extremely good value.

It is your typical Indian food menu with all the classics and a few specials, but the deals they do are top class and make it very enticing to return.

I have been a couple of times and the staff are very friendly and the old reliable of chicken tika misala is perfect.

For a lot of people, the fact that it is not very well presented and maintained would be a turn off but importantly the quality of food is very high and the value for money is excellent.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bombay Bistro also viewed

Clane, County Kildare
Clane, County Kildare
 
Clane, County Kildare
 

Been to Bombay Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing