We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$90
View Deal
Hotels.com
Booking.com
US$90
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$90
eDreamsUS$90
TravelocityUS$90
View all 10 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (145)
Filter reviews
145 results
Traveller rating
108
31
4
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
108
31
4
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 145 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2017

We ate here several times during our stay in Playa Junquillal. We were never disappointed. The food is outstanding. The owners and staff are very friendly and helpful. The drinks from iced tea to mixed drinks and wine were great.

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Rose W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2017

Ate here with my wife, and after trying many restaurants in the Tamarindo area, this was by far the cutest and best meal we had.. everything totally fresh and the Filets are aged by the owner herself.. do no hesitate to check out this restaurant at the lodge for lunch or dinner, plus great paved roads to get to it from Tamarindo, except for the last mile.. the lodge itself is really cute and you might want to consider staying there on a future trip..

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doughboygeneral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2017 via mobile

We are so pleased that we picked this lodge for our 7 night getaway. The lodge is family run by a brother and sister...and their cute dog Andy. The room was clean and the entire lodge was very well kept. The restaurant was amazing. Always enjoyed their specials...especially the whole red snapper! We always walked down to the beach for the sunsets....Andy was always on duty and made it her priority to follow us down and guard our towels (not that we needed guarding!!). Beautiful and safe beach. We checked out all the beaches north and south of the lodge and always came back to junquillal with a smile. Clean, black sand. We saw whales in the distance and even heard them under the water! We look forward to our next visit.

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Madlo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

We've been coming to Junquillal for four years and on our fifth trip we made our first visit to the restaurant at the Guacamaya Lodge for lunch.

Prices are very fair and beer is some of the cheapest in the area. Our nachos were quite good though they didn't include chicken as we had ordered. The grande caprese salad was excellent though they had run out of mozzarella cheese and substituted a local variety which was excellent.

Based on other reviews we expect fast and friendly service but were disappointed by our beer sitting empty for most of our meal, and they didn't even ask about a desert order.

The view is nice, they have a lovely rolling hill and you can just see a sliver of ocean through the trees. Sunset would be beautiful though it's even more spectacular at the Iguanazul which remains our favorite for views, food, breezes and service.

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AliceIten, Owner at Guacamaya Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2017

We are very sorry for disappointing you. We strive to provide excellent service to all our clients and it appears, in this case we fell short. I hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you in the future. Again, our apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

I've been coming to this area of Costa Rica for 15 years and this hotel is my standby/go to choice when not staying with friends. Great value for the price, super clean and tidy, and the restaurant has consistently good food. Walking distance to Playa Junquillal for swimming, surfing and sunsets is a big plus of course!

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank NYRoadtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews