We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.comUS$66
Expedia.comUS$66
eDreamsUS$66
TravelocityUS$66
Orbitz.comUS$66
CheapTicketsUS$66
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (264)
Filter reviews
264 results
Traveller rating
236
25
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
236
25
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews eco lodge sushi night pancakes costa rica yogurt coffee maker off the beaten path minute walk mini fridge make you feel at home pura vida no extra charge on tuesdays pizza and pasta included breakfast is wake up feel like family
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 264 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2017

The little home we lived in is beautiful with a really nicely designed bathroom, a small terrace with a sitting area/ The room is spacy, air-conditioned. and everything was clean and inviting when we arrived. The property has tall trees, so it's not hot even in the middle of the day.
Breakfast is really good and interesting, and you can choose from different options. The restaurant works all day, and it's good because there's nowhere to eat nearby. It wouldn't be a cheap dinner, though, and hotel guests receive no discount.
There is about 10 minutes walk to the beach that is not very impressive, but not bad. The fun activity to participate in is a baby sea turtles "go away" party that happens there often. To hold a little turtle and then let it go to the ocean costs $20, though, and we were not told that it's not a free fun. I would rather go there and stay and enjoy the place if I wanted to write a book, than if I wanted a beach vacations, though. It seems to me that people who run the property are pretty unusual and interesting, but I didn't want to speak to anybody besides my family during my vacations. We had problems with Wi-Fi, not sure if they are constant or just we were not lucky.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MACKBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2016 via mobile

We only stayed for one night, but wish we had stayed longer! Great place to stay for peace and serenity! The Dutch couple that built and run the property are very welcoming and wonderful hosts. You really can switch off here. Rooms are built beautiful with fridge, A/C, safe etc. the pool is perfect to cool off, and the food is excellent. I would happily recommend this place to families, couples, and single travelers. Just down the road is the beach and a turtle release site which is great to see and be part of. Details can be found by asking the owners of the property if they are doing any releases which on your stay. 5 stars all the way!

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank DannyRix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2016

We chose this hotel as it was half way from the airport to our rental property. The casita was simple but very nice to stay in, and Playa Junquillal was almost deserted save a few fishermen. The food was great - we ate both dinner and breakfast here - and we very much appreciated the extra effort made by the owners to make us comfortable. We would definitely come back here again next year.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank davidfinch86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2016

- Remote and quite, but a pleasant 2min walk to one of the most beautiful beaches you can imagine - enjoy sunsets alone!
- Comfortable and super clean rooms with perfect A/C and large de-luxe bathrooms
- Outstanding food! The super fresh, creative and just delicious cuisine would stand out in any upscale restaurant in New York, San Francisco, Barcelona or Berlin as well. You just want to keep eating!
- Most of all: Lovely, friendly and helpful hosts!

Overall: Exceptional!

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Matthias W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

Miguel and Liekel have just expanded their kitchen to accommodate the ever larger crowds that make lunch or dinner a must for any trip to Junquillal. The pumpkin soup is always good. Sushi on Tuesday is a must. Since both Judith and myself are gluten free, the selection of gluten free menu items makes this restaurant a place where your entire group can eat. Don't miss it.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Wesley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews