We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (643)
Filter reviews
643 results
Traveller rating
474
126
30
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
474
126
30
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stables bistro small hotel homemade bread coach house lake district four poster restaurant menu specials board both nights an evening meal eggs benedict lovely walk comfortable room dodd wood walk in shower on arrival cooked to perfection
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 643 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed here for our 30th Wedding Anniversary weekend celebration after last staying here 6 years ago. The welcome, attention from the Staff and the overall quality is excellent. The Staff are friendly and can never do enough for you, the food both breakfast and an evening meal in the Restaurant were superb. All aspects made for a memorable weekend for us so many thanks to all of the hotel staff who made is so. Look forward to returning again one day.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2018

What a lovely hotel in a location we would not, perhaps, have usually considered. A very warm welcome on arrival. We booked a Classic room for a one-night stay (visiting the Lakes Distillery) but on arrival we found that we had been upgraded to one of the luxury rooms (Bakestall); thank you for the upgrade to an excellent room with exceptional views. For the price we paid this has to be one of the best hotels we have stayed in. We had drinks in the spacious and comfortable lounge before an evening meal in the Stable Bistro - all very cosy - and a very good meal too. Breakfast selection was considerable and varied, and again the cooked food was excellent. Service was excellent for both evening meal and breakfast. I would love to stay here in the Summer, when the weather is hot and the nights are lighter, to be able to sit outside enjoying a drink or two on the open terrace with its clear views across to the mountains. This is a very good place to stay, especially if walking or visiting the local area.

Room Tip: The extra few £s for a luxury room is well worth it.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank JRPWashington_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018 via mobile

Great place for a break. Friendly and inviting. Clean comfortable room with nice big bed. Good food. Everything at breakfast freshly made including the bread. Lovely staff. Nothing too much bother and everything done with a smile.Would highly recommend.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Debby R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2018

Stayed here one night in one of the standard small rooms plenty of room for the two of us, but would say if we were to stop longer we would book a larger room. For the price we paid I would say this was the best place we stayed very well looked after in great surroundings.We had a evening meal in the stable Bistro very good meal at a reasonable price. .In the morning breakfast did not disappoint I had full breakfast and my wife had eggs Benedict with smoked salmon. When we arrived at the B&B the host gave us a warm welcome and we said we were going to walk up to Skiddaw peak just behind the hotel. our host gave us some helpful tips and maps most kind.We do intend to return to this generous place . Good place to stay if walking and exploring the Lakes.

Stayed: September 2018
2  Thank carlosJ7468GF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2018 via mobile

What a lovely place, Sue and Nick were extremely friendly and welcoming after a long drive and a last minute booking. Our room was stunning with small details like fresh cookies and hot drink facilities!!

The food was delicious, even though we arrived 15 minutes before last food orders they served us a wonderful meal.. the chocolate orange dessert was absolutely to die for!!

Tasty ales and the best Gin Selection I’ve ever seen!!

Sue and Nick could not have done more for us.. I would highly recommend a stay here.. my only regret.. not having more time to enjoy this beautiful accommodation!!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank nickj882018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews