We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,078)
Filter reviews
1,079 results
Traveller rating
428
379
140
71
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
428
379
140
71
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviews executive room leisure facilities table tennis sauna and steam room swimming pool lake district games room bar food lovely hotel family room good size public areas large room an upgrade enjoyable stay food was lovely cumbrian breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 1,079 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2018

Lovely relaxing break , rooms were clean comfortable and spacious. Very welcoming , staff friendly and helpful. Food was tasty and service excellent . Nice atmosphere too. Would definitley visit again .

Stayed: October 2018
Thank Debrahx H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018

This was an excellent break, we enjoyed the leasure facilities and the resttaurants were excellent. Peaceful surroundings, beautiful scenery, lovely walks.
The room we were in satisfied all our needs. We sat in the beautiful conservatory quiet.y reading our books enjoying a glass of wine - excellent

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter
Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 400maggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

On first impression, the hotel looks like a pub with an unimpressive entrance, but actually, it has its own garden, tennis court (though that seemed out of action), swimming pool and spa facilities. The compound is big. Only after entering the hotel and walking all the way into the reception did we realise the main entrance carpark on the other side and we had parked on the rear carpark, so watch out for the main entrance signs and park there. The carpark there seems more secure.

Based on the facilities, I would have given the place 4 stars. However there is much to be desired of the rooms hence the rating of 3 stars. Room size is ok, but furniture is old with carpet stains and room looks dated. Toilets are bright and clean which is nice. Hallways are poorly lit as well.

Breakfast in the morning was good and wholesome with both hot and continental choices. Perfect for filling up before exploring the lakes for walks!

Overall, an ok and comfortable stay. Did not feel the rooms match up for the place to be 4 stars. Perhaps 3.5 stars from me.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank 205ruthc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018

Clean and comfortable rooms and quite large for modern hotels. Large comfortable bed and bathroom and shower all worked well.
Hotel let down by slow service in dining rooms - over 2 hours for a 2 course meal in early evening when the dining area was quiet.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Q814HValanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2018

First impressions on arriving at the Castle Inn, The Shinning springs to mind. Checkin was not to bad the receptionist was pleasant and we were given our room key and told, our room was ready. When we finally found our room, which was situated in what looked like the basement, it was not so good. We were informed it was not ready bearing in mind it was 3.30pm. We said we would go to the bar and get a coffee to give them a little longer to finish it. Trying to find the bar we passed hovers and dirty bed clothes in the corridor. The hotel smelt stale and old, it was very dark in this hotel. It is in bad need of a makeover. Very 80s and old fashioned. When we finally got to our room I was horrified, curtains not fully on the curtain rails, my pillow was really badly stained with body fluids. The bed was not a double just 2 singles pushed together and held with a bed topper which had a blood stain on it. I rang reception and asked if they could bring me a new pillow. They did this but no apologies. Meal in bar that night very average, lacked appeal. Dust and crumbs under tables and lack of management control to greet guests and over see staff. Tables in bar could do with a varnish, thank goodness we did not upgrade and eat in their restaurant as that did not look must better. On the first evening my husband took a bath and as he got out of the bath the main spot light over the bath fell out and hit him on the head. We reported this and a porter came and pushed it back up and said it was nothing to worry about. My husbands job is a Health and Safety consultant and he was horrified as this is a dangerous situation waiting to happen. The second day it fell down again when we closed the shower door. Breakfast not to bad but plates not cleaned probably. This hotel lacks a level of hygiene standards. It was probably a great hotel in its day but not somewhere we will be recommending or returning to. My husband wrote an email and included these photos to Best Western as he was concerned for other guests health, they let their hotel maintenance manager reply to us who said in his opinion there was no danger with the light in the bathroom. Has he got qualifications in health and safety or has he been told that it causes no safety concerns, from the HSE? We were looking forward to a lovely break in the lakes but ended up that we just could not wait to get home. An experience we will never forget.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Navigate811934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews