We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (625)
Filter reviews
625 results
Traveller rating
328
189
57
30
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
328
189
57
30
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fell restaurant shepherds pie crisps scotch egg residents lounge for sunday lunch lake district cosy bar garden room lovely lunch fish and chips fine dining lamb main course lovely food both nights country hotel
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 625 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2018

A good choice of real ales and a few whiskies add to the uniqueness of this wonderful 17th century inn. The 300 year old bar has Lakeland charm and atmosphere. Border Terriers (and other dogs) are more than welcome in the bar.

Room tip: Rest, relax and enjoy the Lake District
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkinnyJonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew W, Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2018

Thanks very much for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your visit to us and hope to welcome you again soon. Your Border Terrier too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2018

We turned up here on-spec as we were staying in the area and fancied a change from the terrific hotel we were using. Hadn't booked but they accommodated the two of us (and the dog) in a resident's lounge, set a table and provided us with excellent service and food. Would visit again when back in the area. The bar looks very welcoming, the locals are very friendly, and the staff excellent.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marobec1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew W, Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Thank you very much for your review, it's lovely to hear you enjoyed your time with us. We hope you come back to us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2018 via mobile

Called in for drinks and a recce of the place which is quite grubby including dreadful toilet facilities. We didn't think we'd need to check the prices charged beforehand. Sadly we did raise our concerns with reception, who weren't bothered or slightly concerned and chose to ignore. Unable to recommend this establishment at not bring in touch with reality.

Will not be back as over priced.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew W, Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Thank you for your review, your comments are noted. As politely explained to you during your visit, we are not able to negotiate the prices on our wine list.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

Visited for an overnight stay en route further north. Lovely old pub, and public areas welcoming with log fires. Room clean but in need of an overhaul. Dined in the bistro where the food was just ok. Breakfast was nothing special. Would stay here again but would find somewhere else to dine in the evening.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank nurse1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew W, Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, thanks so much for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

Just wanted to thank The Pheasant for a very enjoyable evening on the 28th Feb, lovely restaurant, good food, and attentive staff. We also stayed the night, comfy bed and pillows, tea/coffee facilities in the room ...... a welcoming place to stay.Thank you.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew W, Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

That's lovely to hear and thank you for taking the time to post a review. We really hope we get to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews