We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was the best ”
Review of Fern

Fern
Ranked #6 of 76 Restaurants in Rio Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Fern’s design is based on the many cultural influences throughout the Caribbean; a fusion of Latin and Afro-Caribbean materials and textures interpreted in a contemporary manner within a Spanish Colonial Building. The rich brown textured floor is a nod to the early cigar plantation and has a reclaimed texture and feel. This is matched up against very modern silver leafed cork walls accented with handcrafted modern African light fixtures. The red accents reflect the energy and passion of the Puerto Rican culture. The style of furniture is an eclectic blend of range of styles from the mid 20th century to the modern organic lines of today. The design acts as a backdrop to “frame” the spectacular ocean view; the materials chosen reference the indigenous materials found by the sea and reflect the sparkle and luminosity of the moonlight on the ocean. The space is meant to captivate and maintain interest, while providing a quiet sophisticated backdrop for the preparations of Jean-Georges. Dress code: Breakfast: The dress code for breakfast is resort casual. Shirts, shoes (not barefoot), and bathing suit cover ups are required. Dinner: The dress code for dinner is resort upscale. Bathing suits, sleeveless t-shirts/tank tops, men's shorts and beach flip flops are not permitted.
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

It was the best restaurant we visited in the island. Food was extraordinary, great service and most beautiful decor.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank flaviahite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2017

Super high end restaurant at the St. Regis. Definitely worth the hype. We ate here twice and it was nothing less than stellar, service and food. Once we did ala carte and the other time we did the tasting. Both were amazing. Highly recommend!

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank winesnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

We really enjoyed dining at Fern, twice, during our stay. The restaurant ambiance is lovely & filled with families when we visited, but was not too loud.
Service was a bit slow & not as attentive as we would expect in a restaurant with such high prices, but the food was wonderful. We had filets, lobster, chicken, shrimp, ribeye as well as a variety of appetizers & sides.
We dined later in the evening but this would be a lovely spot for sunset.
Overall, we enjoyed dining here & you will too!

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank tootlepops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

We were staying in Isla Verde and wanted a different venue. Decided on this. If you have never been to the resort, trying to get to the restaurant in the dark was difficult, but once there...WOW! Just the entrance is breathtaking. We were a little late but they had no problem with us starting at the bar for excellent specialty cocktails, then to dinner. We both ordered the classic tasting menu. Every item was better than the last. The service was impeccable, timing was excellent :not rushed ,so we were able to savor each course and not feel overly full by the end.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rusty3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile

This is the fine dining offer at the St Regis. It was outstanding.

We started with the grilled shrimp as an appetizer. It was very good.

My wife had the Caribbean lobster and the creamed corn. Not always a fan of lobster in the Caribbean (it has always been mushy ) but this was great! She used their house made hot sauce as a dip! The creamed corn was also outstanding. The corn was fresh and crispy and the lime juice was a great touch. It had great texture. I could have had it as a meal!!

I had the salmon and it was cooked a perfect medium rare. The shaved Brussels Sprouts on top was a nice touch.

We finished with their signature chocolate cake for desert. It was decadent!

Our waiter was Jesus and we was very personable and attentive to our every need. He even knew we had frequented St. Regis hotels before. His service was outstanding.

We will eat here again this week!

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank 491pjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fern also viewed

 
Rio Grande, Puerto Rico
Palmer, Rio Grande
 

Been to Fern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing