We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$1,221
View deal
Travelocity
US$1,221
View deal
Priceline
US$1,122
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/10/22
Booking.comUS$1,230
Hotels.comUS$1,221
Orbitz.comUS$1,221
View all 16 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,764)
Filter reviews
1,764 results
Traveller rating
1,124
359
139
77
65
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,124
359
139
77
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviews butler service bahia beach sea grapes boat house golf course puerto rico turn down service champagne sabering nature tour walk in closet bird sanctuary four seasons ritz carlton old san juan ocean front golf club bug spray
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,535 - 1,540 of 1,764 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Spectacular hotel. Grounds are incredible and rooms/bathrooms are about as good as it gets. This is definately a place to go for a romantic, quiet and relaxing getaway. If you are looking for an active nightlife, clubs etc. , look elsewhere. It's very expensive - both for the rooms and the restaurants/bars, but it is worth it.

Date of stay: January 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CazArch
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
srbahiabeach, Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2011

Dear Guest,

Saludos from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay at our resort.
Your brief and perfect description is precisely what we intend for every guest – absolute serenity combined with luxury, and wonderful cuisine. Perfect for a romantic getaway or a week of exploring and adventure on our beautiful island of Puerto Rico.

We hope to have the pleasure of indulging you once again, at the St. Regis Bahía Beach, the best address in the Caribbean.

Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

There are so many positives about this hotel, but sadly the service we received took away from a lot of those positives.

Positives:
The rooms at the hotel are extremely nice and very large. We had a beachfront suite and it was one of the nicest rooms I've ever had. I don't think anyone would be disappointed in the room, regardless of your expectations. The grounds around the hotel were very well kept and it makes you feel like you are in your own private jungle retreat.

The quality of the food and drinks were very good and we liked everything we tried. We loved Fern and would highly recommend eating here. The food wasn't too pricey, but drinks were expensive, even by resort standards ($22 with tax and service fee for all the mixed drinks).

I played golf one morning and the course had a really nice layout. The par 3s were all a little too short, and some seemed like they were just squeezed into the course, but overall it was a very nice, fun course that I would recommend to any golfers.

Our room was in the building next to the plantation house (the main building) so it was very convenient to everything. I would recommend asking to be in a room close to the main building.

Negatives:
Our biggest complaint during the trip was the slow service for just about everything. The staff was always very friendly and helpful, but it just took WAY too long for them to do anything. Ordering coffee in the morning took 45 minutes to an hour each day. By the pool, the server would only come by once every half hour or so and the morning we left it took 35 minutes for the bellman to come to the room to get our luggage. Our room wasn't ready until 4:30pm when we arrived on a Monday and we often had to call to have our room serviced. Most days it wasn't serviced until 5 or 6pm. These are just a couple examples, but almost everything was too slow and it became a joke among us by the end of our trip.

The other big complaint we had was that there was no adult pool. There were lots of children at the hotel, which was totally fine except by the pool. The pool wasn't crowded, but there was at least one loud family in each area of the pool. Going forward, I really hope the hotel designates one of the areas as an adult pool.

Then some miscellaneous notes. The beach is nice, but it didn't look anything like the pictures on the website. The sand was dark brown, and there was a fair amount of sea weed and sticks on the beach. The water was also more of a brown color. It may just be a little extra muddy during this time of the year, but it was definitely not anything close to a bright blue-green. Also there aren't really any "beachfront" rooms. The closest rooms are still probably 40-50 yards from the beach and there are lots of trees in between the room and the ocean. We were on the first floor, so maybe the second floor has an unobstructed view, but our room did not.

Overall, the hotel was so beautiful and the flight from the US was so easy that we will definitely try it again and hope for some changes. I would just set your expectations ahead of time and you should have a great time.

Room tip: Ask for a room close to the plantation house (main building) to avoid a long walk to the beach/pool/restaurants.
Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brandon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
srbahiabeach, Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2011

Dear Guest,

Greetings from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay.

We are thrilled that you found our sophisticated, yet laid-back, plantation-style rooms to your satisfaction, as well as our Robert Trent Jones, Jr. golf course and fantastic food and beverage choices.

We do apologize, however, for the wait time you experienced with regards to service, and the pool area. Your feedback is crucial for us to improve in any area where we may have fallen short, and has been shared with our staff in an effort to avoid this from reoccurring. We welcome any further comments you may have.

On a positive note, as you point out, the exquisite beauty of our natural surroundings, make for a very magical location indeed. We are very proud to be the first Certified Gold Audubon Signature Sanctuary in the Caribbean, and we are pleased that you genuinely appreciated our intimate and peaceful tropical atmosphere.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Bahía Beach in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

This hotel was fabulous! When you drive in, it's so secluded you feel like you're in Jurassic Park (yes, that's a good thing). From the moment you arrive, everyone is taking care of you. It's important to me to feel like the people who work at a hotel are treated well - and it seems like the staff @ St Regis are. They always have a genuine smile on their face, and are incredibly helpful & kind without being abrasive.
The rooms are wonderful. Very new, very clean. The pool was spectacular as well, though we preferred the beach since it was empty. This is not a white sand/ no waves/ crystal clear water kind of beach - it's the Atlantic! It's the real ocean, and the sand looks like sand! We loved it.
The restaurants are wonderful. We found Seagrapes to be slightly overpriced for a casual restaurant, but Molassas and The Fern were actually quite reasonable and the food was superb.
I highly recoomend renting a car. Being able to go to the grocery store and buy a few bottles of wine saved us hundreds of dollars. Plus, we had the freedom of exploring San Juan (which is really really great) and El Yunque whenever we liked. We went on the Bacardi tour as well - the tour itself was silly, but it was free and you get two drinks so there's that!
Overall, it's one of the best trips we've ever taken. I was slightly wary of PR, but I will certainly be returning (and staying @ the St Regis!).

Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CMV1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
srbahiabeach, Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2011

Dear Guest,

Saludos from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay at our resort.

We are extremely pleased that you allowed yourself to become so enraptured by our captivating surroundings, and that you had such a fulfilling vacation experience. As you point out, our staff is truly genuine in their efforts to make everyone feel welcome to our little slice of paradise. And you are right – being attentive without being intrusive is a true art!

You seemed to have encompassed the entire guest experience, both on property and off, and we enjoyed your description as you relived your adventures, exploring our special island as well as the variety of our sumptuous cuisine.

We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to St. Regis Bahía Beach in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We stayed there in May 2011 and had a very pleasant experience. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. There is a rainforest feel throughout the property. The plantation house is beautifully decorated and has an intimate atmosphere of which you feel you are staying at a private home. Staff aims to please and they try very hard. We had a suite with butler service so every morning tea and coffee were promptly brought to us which was a very nice touch.
We ate at all the restaurants and had room service as well. While the food was good, I have had a wider variety of choices at other resorts. Some dishes were great while others were just good. However, this did not take away from my experience as I still managed to have a fantastic time. If you are heading to Puerto Rico, this is definitely the place to stay. The distance from San Juan did not bother us and we made a day trip out of the journey which was a nice change of pace from the resort grounds and activities. Spa was beautiful.

Date of stay: May 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chi_LonTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
srbahiabeach, Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2011

Dear Guest,

Saludos from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent visit.

It fills us with great pride that you truly appreciated our plantation-style design accentuated by the renowned St. Regis butler service. As you noted the similarity to a rainforest, we are blessed to have El Yunque rainforest as our backdrop - one of the very few rainforests left in the world, and the only one under the US flag, providing a magical touch to our lush tropical surroundings.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future to your home away from home, at Bahía Beach.

Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We were there to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. The room we booked for, was not available which we found out after arriving! The staff was very very courteous and respectful and promised our king bed in 2 days. We said that's fine.....
The butler services isn't as great the hotel advertises it to be. I waited 1 hour for shampoo !!
The restaurants are waay too pricey for the type of food they serve!! Molasses is by far the best although you can get better mofongo in old San Juan.
One last reminder, you certainly need bug spray with you the whole time!

Date of stay: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Our10th
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
srbahiabeach, Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2011

Dear Guest,

Saludos from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your recent stay.

Congratulations on your 10th wedding anniversary! We are thrilled that you chose the St. Regis Bahía Beach to celebrate such a special occasion.

We are concerned however, regarding your experience with our butler service, and deeply apologize for your disappointment.

The St. Regis butler is part of our signature and legacy, and your comments most certainly enlighten us as to any area where we may have fallen short of your expectation. To this end, we welcome any further feedback and would love a chance to speak with you. Please feel free to contact us at your convenience.

On a positive note, we are happy that you found Molasses to be so delightful, and do hope that you will return soon, so we may have the pleasure of sharing our hospitality again with both of you.

Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews