We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful, relaxing family vacation”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Island Gem

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Twins can be made up into a king
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
West Bay, Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Lianna V
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful, relaxing family vacation”
Reviewed 11 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed in this same villa for our honeymoon 7 years ago and this time we returned as a family of 4 with our 2 young kids. Though it was a very different vacation with a 2 and 4 year old this time, it was as close to perfect as you can get. The villa is wonderful for a family and you really feel at home there. Lee keeps the place immaculate and up to date so it's really like luxury living :) The kids even found some beach toys there which kept them happy all week.
Cayman is a very safe island with lots to do and see. We drove around the island and had lunch at Rum Point and the kids played on the beach. We visited 7 mile many times and they have a great playground for kids as well. We had lunch at Rackam's in George town a couple of times because the view is great and the kids loved feeding the tarpon. Macabuca also had a great BBQ on Monday night...you can't beat the view from that restaurant!
The best part about Villas Papagallos is that it's very quiet and private. Although it's a complex, it feels like your own. You can walk along the beach and not run into anyone which was so refreshing compared to the crowds at 7 mile. The pool, although a little cold, was also great for the kids...the temperature didn't stop them from spending hours swimming in there.
We definitely suggest renting a car so you can travel around the island, grocery shop, go to restaurants and visit other beaches.
Overall it was a wonderful vacation and we'd go back in a second. Lee is very helpful, provided lots of great suggestions of where to go, where to shop and where to eat. The whole rental experience couldn't have been better.
Thanks so much to Lee and we can't wait for our next family vacation!

Date of stay: January 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Feb 2016
Thanks Lianna! So glad to have you back as a repeat guest and wonderful to welcome your young family. Normally the pool is nice and warm, but I know you had a few days of unusually bad weather. Just means you need to come back for another visit to check it out.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The private beach.
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 30 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Secluded location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
1 May 2015
Thanks so much for the outstanding review Erin! It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and so rewarding when our guests expectations are met. Hope to have you back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
maggirl80
Fredericton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Paradise Found”
Reviewed 31 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

Just returned from 9 night stay at Starfish Villa. This location was absolutely perfect for our holiday escape. Mostly stuck close to condo and beach but ventured for a few day trips and outings. It was only a short drive to groceries, shopping, SMB and restaurants. Loved the privacy on the beach, quiet condo with all the amenities we needed for our comfort. It was well maintained and had a lovely ocean view and the sound of the waves would lull us to sleep every night. The beds were soooo.. comfy. The owner responded promptly to our questions and gave us great info package to follow. This was our first trip to GC and first experience with property rental. We definitely would go back .

Date of stay: December 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarnia
Reviewed 5 August 2013 for a stay in December 2012

Date of stay: December 2012
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
5 Aug 2013
Thanks for the amazing review Karen! It was a pleasure to have you staying our unit and we look forward to your return visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.