We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (611)
Filter reviews
611 results
Traveller rating
461
116
18
12
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
461
116
18
12
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews meal plan dive tech shore diving dive staff dive shop great dive dive vacation valet diving dive master dive sites on site the cottages grand cayman non divers all inclusive package the wait staff ocean front suite
Filter
Updating list...
170 - 175 of 611 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2015

My wife and I stayed at Cobalt Coast at the beginning of July. I booked a flight and 6 day/5 night hotel stay with Expedia for two people for $1600, so I was nervous about the quality of the hotel. lWhile it was a little hard to find at first (I rented a car), it actually forced us to get to know the island better. The entire staff, from the servers to the cleaners to the owner himself are all extremely friendly and accommodating. We overslept one day, and they offered us breakfast even though it was past the time when breakfast was served. The ocean view is SPECTACULAR and completely unobstructed. The jerk chicken was delicious and Arie's omelettes hit the spot. Learning to dive is somewhat pricey compared to other diving outfits, but what is nice is they offer pool lessons for beginners. There were just a handful of people staying there, which made our vacation that much more enjoyable. Room was clean, though the shower knobs were in poor condition. Only thing to keep in mind: this part of the island seems to be subject to rougher waters, so while there is a picturesque pier, it is not the safest place to go snorkeling. It is, from what I understand, a great place to go diving.

Room Tip: We stayed on bottom floor room, but the top floor ocean rooms have an even better view
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TravellingDaWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arie_Barendrecht, Owner at Cobalt Coast Grand Cayman Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2015

Dear guest, Happy you tracked us down for your dive vacation stay in Cayman. You will have a soft spot for us forever because of your learning how to dive experience. And yes the world under water is unbelievable. (Tough to explain to your neighbours). Thank you so much for your kind words about our staff. We look forward to be your host again, soon. Arie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2015 via mobile

If you want something slightly less appealing than a motel 6, less clean and with air conditioners that don't work and sound like a Diesel engine, this is the place for you. It's mostly used by diving groups and if you aren't a member of a diving group you're going to be treated like a pimple. There are a ton of really chintsy up charges on everything and all the furniture everywhere is plastic. It feels lmore like a hunting camp than any kind of resort.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Octobone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arie_Barendrecht, Owner at Cobalt Coast Grand Cayman Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2015

Dear Trip Advisor member, I do apologize that you felt marginalized as not being part of a group. When your travel agent booked you last-minute trip we did explain that we had limited availability due to having a special program during the time of your stay. The specialty week has been a very popular week for underwater photography enthusiasts. I know we relocated you to a close-by hotel when you expressed your unhappiness with the program and I hope the rest of your stay was pleasant. Arie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2015

We have dived with Reef Divers on Cayman Brac. I hear they are coming to Cobalt Coast - they are incredible - helpful, knowledgeable, friendly, and they are expert divers. Can't wait to go diving with them at Cobalt Coast.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rockdivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arie_Barendrecht, Owner at Cobalt Coast Grand Cayman Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2015

Dear Rockdivers, Not sure I can wait seven years for you guys to come back, but I am glad you did in February and it was nice to be remembered after so many years. Thanks for picking our place again, not sure you dived anywhere else in the mean time. Looking forward to the Reef Divers experience myself. I'll promise to keep you posted! Arie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2015

My experience with this resort forces a mixed (mostly good) review. All of the staff were really great. Our dive group had arranged an all inclusive for meals. Breakfast was a nice buffet, plenty of fruit, eggs, bacon/ham, potatoes, french raisin toast, pancakes, hash, yogurt. Coffee, tea, juice at the ready. Lunch was one entree off their menu and a non-alcoholic drink. Everything I tried was really prepared well. The fish and chips was excellent. Grilled fish sandwich was great. Hamburgers were super, done to your liking. Dinner was, again, buffet. Every night, there was a different theme, be it Chinese, Mexican, British, but every meal was really prepared well by a super group in the kitchen.

The bartenders, especially Colin (great sense of humor), were very friendly and attentive. Drinks were pricey (pretty much $10 or more), but not unexpected for Grand Cayman. I bought 6 drinks while I was there and my bill was $59.50 U.S.

We stayed in rooms that accommodated two couples, or one couple and two singles. There was a communal great room on the ocean aide, and a long hallway leading to the first bedroom and bath, and on to the second bedroom and bath, with a separate keyed entrance on the back. Also, there was a balcony on the ocean side. We all used it to hang our dive gear, or just sit and bake in the afternoon sun. The AC was good in the great room, but poor in the bedrooms. It was 90 plus degrees when we were there, so the bedrooms were HOT. That aspect of the room really needs management to take seriously before I will go there again.

There was also a well-equipped, well staffed dive shop right there. The shore diving (right off their dock) was readily available, and our group took advantage of it to the utmost. Nice pool and narrow beach, too.

Overall, really good resort for divers!

Room Tip: Make sure to request a corner room on the ocean side.
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank stevebU8934WQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arie_Barendrecht, Owner at Cobalt Coast Grand Cayman Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2015

Dear Steve, Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with the world. I love it when your headline states" Really good for divers" because these are the folks we are trying to please. I love the way you explained the mealplan we offer every day with 3 meals in mind; You did not even tell us that you gained a bit of weight. Like in too much food. But I understand that there are certain things we don't talk about. Collin does a great job and he probably explained all about the Cayman Island dollar, at US$1.25. That makes us a bit more pricey, but special we know. Remember, hardly any mosquitoes and then some? Looking forward to have you stay with us again, soon. Arie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2015

From planning and booking to our arrival and stay, the staff at Cobalt Coast went out of their way to make our experience great. From the manager to the waitresses, they were flexible and sincerely friendly as our dive schedule evolved. Wether we were driving through lunch or dinner, they had food for us when we returned.
Located on the north west tip of the island, we were close enough to Georgetown to take a bus and explore but far enough not to encounter crowds.
Having the dive shop on the premises was the best! There were plenty of knowledgable and friendly staff from all over the world.
If I was planning another dive trip to Grand Cayman, I would certainly book at Cobalt Coast.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lou V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arie_Barendrecht, Owner at Cobalt Coast Grand Cayman Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2015

Dear guest, If I could only quote you, put your statement on my letterhead or on T-Shirts! Your comments make me feel very proud of the staff. Happy we did contribute to your vacation memories and thank you so much for sharing. Your comments are already posted on our employee boards. Looking forward to be your host again, soon. Arie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews