We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not equivalent to others..”
Review of Virgin Atlantic Airways


Reviewed 7 July 2019 via mobile

In the Airbus 330 300 series the Virgin Airways Upper Class is laid out as three rows of 10 at about a 45-degree (or more angle.. both outer rows have backs to the windows which makes it virtually impossible to look out of them without breaking your neck or kneeling on your seat with your butt to the aisle) the middle row, of course faces one row, the right wing side. The seat is particularly narrow, and the seat adjustments take a while to get used to.. when you want to lie flat you have to get up and rearrange the whole thing in order to lie flat. While they are truly lie flat beds, they are hard as rocks. The TV screen actually adjust nicely so you can watch it at virtually any angle, but the amenity kit is weak, at best. If it's an overnight flight and you get offered pajamas they give on nice little extra layer of warmth. There is a bar between business and comfort, if you want to get up and stand there or self-serve during the flight, because the crew does not come around as much as say Delta's crew does. Probably the potato chips are one of the best things on the flight. The menu did not match the choices either in wine or always in food. The movies were great and many more than we would get as choices on Delta flight. But for all the hype of Virgin upper-class, the only real reason to pay and go would be for the club in Heathrow.

Date of travel: July 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
Thank VirginiaCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (15,285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,578 - 2,582 of 15,285 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2019

The flight was on time. Food was OK and no issues with the service on board. I did like the emails and phone call from Virgin before our flight which I thought was nice touch.

Date of travel: June 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
2  Thank bjbirdie2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 July 2019 via mobile

Flew in upper class from Heathrow to Las Vegas and had a positive experience.

Using the upper class wing for check in at Heathrow was excellent and we were quickly in the fantastic clubhouse lounge.

The flights were also good- cabin crew were fantastic, and all food and drinks were of high quality. The only issue is that virgins upper class seat is now quite outdated. It’s quite uncomfortable for sleeping on overnight flights.

Date of travel: July 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
Thank Walkerben115
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 July 2019

I thought Virgin Atlantic was probably the only airline that had not adopted the new mediocre standards on London to the US flights! But turns out I was very wrong. I did not get a premium economy tag in my bag so my bag was one of the last to Arrive. There’s no premium boarding in security, no special treatment at all. Basically a waste of time and money. I will be lodging an official complaint once this flight is over

Date of travel: July 2019
Thank Paradise561207
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 July 2019

Total disappointment, food was abysmal, service slow and although most of the staff were lovely one was exceptionally rude.

Date of travel: June 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
1  Thank stephkemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.