We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waste of money”
Review of Virgin Atlantic Airways


Reviewed 6 July 2019

I thought Virgin Atlantic was probably the only airline that had not adopted the new mediocre standards on London to the US flights! But turns out I was very wrong. I did not get a premium economy tag in my bag so my bag was one of the last to Arrive. There’s no premium boarding in security, no special treatment at all. Basically a waste of time and money. I will be lodging an official complaint once this flight is over

Date of travel: July 2019
Thank Paradise561207
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (15,412)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,709 - 2,713 of 15,412 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2019

Total disappointment, food was abysmal, service slow and although most of the staff were lovely one was exceptionally rude.

Date of travel: June 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
2  Thank stephkemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 July 2019

ok i have used virgin atlantic several times in the past and always viewed them as a premium airline on a par with BA and Singapore airways and Emirates. you could always tell Virgin staff from their perfect grooming and bright red perfect uniform. However this June we booked to fly to Florida using virgin, What a major mistake rude staff poor organisation lost passengers and staff not bothered. and this is at the airport. whilst in the air staff initially polite and attentive but 3 hours into the flight . felt thirsty so pushed the call button the light comes on but no staff, after 20 mins 2 staff walk past look at the light and continue they then stood talking to each other 3 rows behind before going back to their station. result i had to walk to them and ask for a drink which i was given 2 cans of warm coke no ice when i asked told they were all out of ice. during meal service our row were totally missed out for coffee or drinks yet again we had to walk up the plane to fetch our own drinks! on arrival at airport my group of 7 (1 elderly in wheel chair 2 disabled children 1 disabled adult my wife and 5 yo daughter) were separated by customs leaving an eldery wheel chair person with a special needs adult at baggage reclaim, we were not allowed back to them so we proceeded after waiting over an hour for them to appear i went to the virgin desk where i recieved an attitude which was beyond belief the couldn't care less wasn't their problem. i then spoke to a guy at the delta desk who was most concerned and had tannoys put out and security sent to find them. the return journey was an even bigger joke special assistance was just non existent unless u were in a wheel chair and then it was only to move you from a to b with poor attitude, despite explaining several times how autism effects behaviour we just were made to feel stupid by poorly trained staff how gave no additional support when they could see autistic children going into melt down, the attitude was like get in line , control the children dont shout move along. the funniest thing was before we flew i spoke to Virgin customer services who assured me that they were well trained in autistic care and opperated a "lanyard scheme" where the children would be given a lanyard to ware identifying them as special needs to staff, great idea i hear u say, It would be if the staff were arare of what the lanyard ment!! the only advice i can give is if you are travelling with children with additional needs dont fly out of Gatwick and dont fly with Virgin Mr Branson should be ashamed of his airline going from premium to sub budget.

Date of travel: June 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank globetrotter1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 July 2019 via mobile

Having flown with virgin for the past four years and been perfectly happy, we were disappointed on this trip!
Having upgraded due to one of us having slight mobility problems, we upgrade for ease as there are better facilities.
On this flight it was disappointing that we had paid more and suffered problems such as - only one toilet ( on the other side of the plane) at the other end of our cabin. Thus caused an uncomfortable flight as apart from the effort of getting there - there was always a queue, which was uncomfortable when you have a walking stick for balance. The steward in our flight was great but said that unfortunately we were on one of their retro planes - well I have to say this didn’t go down well with us. We were extremely disappointed on this flight.

Date of travel: June 2019
Thank gillian a
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 July 2019 via mobile

This was the usual good flight!
Enjoyed the trip, the service and the staff
Wasn’t so keen on the food but this happens sometimes. Assistance at Gatwick was superb
Disappointed in the arranged “assistance “at the
Barbados end as we had to find our own help with the cases and had to queue for private transport in the hot sun (sitting on our cases)

Date of travel: June 2019
Thank gillian a
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.