We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flew upstairs!”
Review of Virgin Atlantic Airways


Reviewed 5 July 2019

Booked premium economy, lucky enough to go upstairs. Virgin good for transatlantic flights, and whilst we could not afford higher class premium very good, great service.

Date of travel: June 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
1  Thank Sm0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (15,193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,498 - 2,502 of 15,193 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2019

We booked our holiday 18months ago. Pre booked seats included. We booked the seats on the day they became available to sit our party together and so we could all keep my 3yrs old grandson amused. 7 of us travelling together.
In our party was my sons partner who has vertigo and was a nervous flyer. She needed to be in a window seat because of this. She had recently lost her father to cancer. The day before we flew the seats booked for my son and partner were taken off them. They were placed at the other end of the plane and did not have a window seat. This caused us all so much stress and upset. We were all surprised at this and unhappy. It ruined the excitement of going on holiday the next day. We spent hours on the phone trying to sort it out but virgin would not give us the seats back. We were promised it would be sorted at the airport. We were promised there would be a note on our booking and our seats on the return journey would not be taken off us. When we arrived at Manchester after much debate with the staff there we were told they could move us all to seat us together giving us an extra leg room seat as an upgrade but it would have to be myself and my husband who sat there as it wasn’t suitable for nervous flyers. I told them I have menieres syndrome so I need a window seat otherwise I will get disoriented and would be ill. I was assured it was a window seat. It wasn’t The seat was the worst one I have ever flown on. I suffered from travel sickness and dizziness and left the plane with a very painful neck as you look down at the screen provided. Worst flight I’ve ever done. It ruined the start of our holiday totally. Plus there was no meal for my 3yr old grandson even though it had been booked He was offered an adult meal and snack. What 3 yrs old eat a multi seeded pesto roll? The main meal was served very early so he basically went for 6 hours with nothing to eat. The only available snacks to buy were sweets. On the flight home the same thing happened again with the seats despite assurances our seats were taken off us again. The attitude of the staff at Orlando was disgraceful. The seats given to my son and partner were at opposite ends of the plane and separated. After much debate and a lot of arguing a supervisor came and authorised them to put us all together. We were treated really badly. We had flown with virgin before and had always been pleased with the service provided. It seems things change. Even though our holiday for the 7 of us cost thousands it did not guarantee our treatment by virgin and really put a downer on our holiday. We just wanted what we had paid for. Nothing extra. We didn’t get that. I’ve always recommended virgin I won’t be doing that in future.

Date of travel: May 2019
Thank liveforholiday60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2019

Cumulating both flights Heathrow - Atlanta and Miami - Heathrow makes me give this airline a less rating although the rating on the first flight would be higher purely because it was rather empty, thus I was able to stretch my legs on 4 nearby seats and even sleep for some 90min during our day flight. However the return flight was rather full with only one seat near me empty (besides one other lady who was fortunate to have 2 empty seats near her and a scattered empty seat here and there) which even so left me on huge pain as I have multiple arthritis......... while the cabin crew simply disappeared with their super tanned faces after the main meal only to re-appear before the measly breakfast: even a small person like me could not eat or even declare myself satisfied with what these guys called meals when you pay hundreds of pounds for flights as the cabin crew sleeps in proper beds while their boss sleeps on an island counting the billions in the name of the profit they make!!!!

I am posting only pictures from the first flight as the little presentation box was rather cute, the second flight had nothing interesting about it and I am at least happy that after both flights I did not have those horrible 24h migranes that used to upset me so much in the previous years - did the fines the airlines get contribute to actually them improving the quality of the air they circulate in the planes?

And thank God on this occasion I did not get sick within the next 24h of flying, as in the past when I used to get sick, then have complication of months!!!!

So air, food and sleep factors touched - always wondering why airlines do not consider 'night cabins' only formed of beds (like in the night trains with maybe 3 rows on top of each other) so all of us would be able to stretch as food is the last on our minds when having a 8h flight - I was hardly impressed with red suit/red lipstick/harsh make up on the faces of the young girls becoming purple from too much blusher as if they were trying to copy a warrior look on their faces. But hey, the illusion of giving us 'cool' while they make their profits.

Ad to that the security lady at Miami who disappeared after destroying one of our bags (check my pics of thrown around PopTarts and Gellos, as she left them, you only find in the US and which I like bringing back to the UK -because she could not open it with her chunky fingers thus leaving a queue of people waiting to have their bags further examined as if all the world would be a toxic substance 'transporter') and getting a very rude treatment from the security guy at Heathrow just because I do not look like a 'tired lady' and you are left wondering: I pay the salary of these guys, why on earth do I even bother doing so much charity work in so many forms for our society, trying to help others when no one is even bothering doing a basic job, nevermind even helping me?

Better than the flight I had with BA last month returning also from N America, but not a major difference between these 2 airlines.

Date of travel: July 2019
Thank TERRAvelista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2019 via mobile

Flying Premium economy on Virgin Atlantic is brilliant, the food, drinks, service and entertainment are second to none. Highly recommended. Priority boarding, and a welcome drink are just the thing to start your holiday.

Date of travel: June 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
Thank DavidPK63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2019

Baggage drop was quick, no long queues. Boarding was on time and we were greeted by friendly staff. Food was not outstanding but acceptable. The hostess’s and stewards were cheerful and friendly. The flight was smooth and on time. The aircraft was quite old but clean and appeared well maintained.

Date of travel: January 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank richard g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.