We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diamond in the Sky”
Review of Virgin Atlantic Airways


Reviewed 12 June 2019

I had an amazing time flying with Virgin Atlantic to Paris which was my first 'long-haul' flight. I have flown many airlines in my day such as Southwest, United, Delta, Hawaiian Airlines, ETC. reaching up to six hours. Throughout the ten and a half hour flight from San Francisco to Paris, we were very well taken care of. I am just over six feet tall and relatively slender and had no problem with space. Approximately three hours into the flight, I headed to the back of the plane which was mostly unoccupied and laid down across the middle row. I felt my bags were safe without me as the flight attendants were trustworthy and make it their mission to connect with their passengers. Free snacks were handed out all throughout the flight including the amazing chicken tikka masala dinner with rice, chips with crackers, oranges which were served several times during 'lights out,' and the amazing egg and fruit breakfast. *Other snacks and meals were available but this is what I chose* We had connections with FlyBe in Manchester both ways which was a little cramped for me but, the flight was short and we had an amazing view of the Eiffel Tower.

Date of travel: August 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
3  Thank Ben T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (15,206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,706 - 2,710 of 15,206 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2019

As we were flying during half term holidays the only seats available were economy. We boarded with little to no fuss and were greeted by staff and advised where our seats were. We had booked extra legroom seats by the emergency exits. We had masses of room to stretch our legs. The only fly in the plan was we were near the toilets, which were visited very often and usually by the same people!! Overall a happy experience with very happy cabin crew. Would recommend.

Date of travel: May 2019
1  Thank Pinklady816
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 June 2019

I have flown Business Class before, and have to say Virgin Airlines meets all, and even exceeds some, of the others. I was on a 787, with no First Class, so we got top of the line service. Including free PJs, which I kept and will wear again (black long sleeve v-neck shirt and long pants, both super soft). There was a bar area with snacks and liquid refreshment. The flight left at 8PM, so I did not end up taking advantage of what I believe would be a great way to meet other travelers. Food was good, as were the white wines. I am 5'10" and had plenty of room when the comfy seat was in a flat position. Amazing service. I have to send kudos to Henry. He was super attentive, friendly, and professional. I can't wait to fly them again!

Date of travel: June 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
3  Thank Sherry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 June 2019

A good flight but not having a choice of food in Premium was a bit of a let down. Virgins blushes were saved by a stewardess who went out of her way to get me a meal.

Date of travel: May 2019
1  Thank AlanFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 June 2019 via mobile

Booked a holiday package to Disney Florida with Virgin Holidays so don’t know the flight prices and it was a family holiday with 13 of us so we booked economy. The crew were very good and really approachable. The seats were roomy enough and comfy. In flight entertainment was very good with loads of choices and you were served plenty of drinks. But the food!! Oh dear it was awful!!!! I enjoy in flight food usually but this was awful snd I’ve told them so. The 8 hour flight flew by each way and the Virgin V room in Manchester is worth booking. There the food is much better with good choices.

Date of travel: June 2019
1  Thank BevBarnsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.