We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not friendly to Japanese”
Review of United Airlines


Reviewed 29 September 2019 via mobile

This was my first time to feel such uncomfortable. Cabin attendants were friendly to non-Japanese passengers but not to Japanese. Well Japanese passengers might not be good at English and sometimes frustrate them. However it does not mean they do not say hi or bye. They greet selectively when off boarding. Took a look at our faces and ignored. The flight was not bad, I have not noticed such attitude during the flight.

Date of travel: August 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
3  Thank LjiljanaTokio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (50,976)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,656 - 4,660 of 50,976 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2019

They had blankets at every seat! That is a huge deal when you travel overnight. Kudos!

They provided snack and drinks. Entertainment was only with their app. I didn’t ask about WiFi and didn’t try to use the app. It was a late flight and I slept most of the way.

Thank you for the blankets!!!

Date of travel: September 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
1  Thank Sweetra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2019

Basic economy is misleading and a rip off. In the end passengers will pay more for baggage check, $30 per person. It is not worth it, book economy instead. It is basically the bait and switch and a money grab for the airlines!

Date of travel: September 2019
Thank Janetwsheehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2019 via mobile

789 Dreamliner makes for a, comfy ride but not so much if it's United aka Continental Business First Old 2-2-2 business class with discomfort and Polaris soft product Choose 6D or 6G the only 2 seats with their own overhead locker and direct aisle access as well as being Bulkhead seats OK food but ran out of champagne Don't forget to ask for PJS (they are not pro-offered)

Date of travel: September 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
Thank conb278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2019

Departure flight was delayed for 4 hours for maintenance. The alternative was to wait at the airport for 14 hours for another flight. We were able to change our departure flight but United Airlines screwed up by cancelling our non stop returning flight. Luckily we were able to get a connecting returning flight but this flight was delayed for 2 hours due to maintenance issues and we would not be able to make the transfer flight. We were also not be able to get a refund for changing non stop flight to connecting flight. So instead we had to take another flight that's 9 hours ahead , which would lead us to arriving at our destination the next day. This made us late for work and the kids late for school. United Airlines should purchase newer airplanes to prevent maintenance issues that cause flight delays and properly train personnel that when you change departing flight do not cancel returning flight. This is horrible United Airlines!!!

Date of travel: September 2019
Thank Frequentflyermi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.