We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Savings”
Review of Spirit Airlines


Reviewed 29 November 2022

Maybe If flying solo u can reap a savings. I was wowed by the $300/RT ticket savings vs. a nonstop flight. In the end, all the extra fees ($99 / carry on bag & they DO enforce this) made our savings Zero. Not worth it if flying as a family.

Date of travel: November 2022
Thank NealHines
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviews (25,936)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

341 - 345 of 25,936 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2022 via mobile

Literally the worst flight of our lives. They delayed flights so bad that they managed to make us miss our connection. Then they rebooked us (which is a huge nightmare having to go through security again) at 1 am for another flight, this time with more layovers. The boarding time was the same as our arrival time, also with delays so we missed yet another connection flight. We spent several nights sleeping on floors with a toddler and zero compensation. Rude and incompetent employees. Uncomfortable cramped and overbooked planes. Micro charging for everything so it’s not even worth it. They even charge you to print your boarding pass. Never ever ever fly spirit. Ever.

Date of travel: November 2022
Thank 274839Slappy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 29 November 2022

My daughter brought a rolling traveling case as her personal bag because my son lives in Orlando and there's a lot of walking. While flying to Orlando, we were fine, we weren't told the bag was too big for a carryon and it was just a small rolling bag. On the flight back, she was told that the bag was too big, and we were refused entrance to the plane unless we paid an additional $99 for a carryon that fit under the seat. I've seen duffle bags bigger than this thing. Anyway, we flew with Spirit a lot before that, now we will be looking for another airline or driving. I hope that $99 was worth the loss of 5 passengers, one of whom travelled with them multiple 10 plus times a year.

Date of travel: November 2022
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank noneofyourbusinessh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 29 November 2022

I realized, that as just a slightly taller person at around 6', it is an honestly painful and uncomfortable experience to ride spirit. Sure it's cheap, but your body will hurt for a while.

Date of travel: November 2022
Thank Platonicguineapig
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 29 November 2022

Spirit is worth it for the shorter trips. You will not be uncomfortable too long. However, I did take a flight to Vegas, and would recommend an upgraded seat.
For quick business trips..you don't need to pay for frills that you just don't use.

Date of travel: November 2022
Thank Livnrun22
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2023 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.