We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frequent delayed Airline”
Review of SATA - Azores Airlines


Reviewed 14 October 2018

Flight attendantes friendly, but their flight are frequent with delays, som elong and in the return from TER had may bags damaged!

Date of travel: September 2018
Thank Luis c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

70 - 74 of 1,149 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2018 via mobile

We were four hours delayed taking off and SATA did a poor job in telling everyone what the problem was. When we finally left there was confusion on boarding as they just allowed everyone with the exception of disabled people to board without regard to seating arrangements.

Date of travel: October 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
Thank Q1255NRkevins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2018

If you can avoid this airline, I would recommend you do so. Our flight was delayed from Toronto over two hours, while the staff at Sata said it was due to paperwork and miscounting passengers. How that even happens when everything is electronic is beyond me. Because of this delay, we missed our connector which was a direct flight to Gran Canaria. Because of missing that flight, we had to spend the whole next day on various flights to get to Gran Canaria. All the Sata Planes are very old. No entertainment included. There was a meal included, but that's all. The A/C Heating is out of whack where one seat is bowling hot, and another freezing cold. On our return, our Sata flight was delayed once again, this time due to a light not working. The airlines asked for 37 volunteers to leave this plane (we had already boarded the bus to go on the plane) and then returned to the airport. After they had their volunteers, luggage reloaded, passengers recounted, and recounted (again) we were able to board. There was only one bathroom out of three working on the return flight from Sao Miguel to Toronto (6 hour flight!) I have a feeling this is more the reason why they had to vacate some of the plane, rather than an emergency light. All in all that flight was delayed 5.5 hours. Service was poor, no explanations given to why flights were delayed until we were back on the plane, etc. This didn't ruin our trip, but next time if I can avoid this airline, I definitely will. If you look at their on time rates, it's very low. I heard it's a rule to work situation, which is very unprofessional to put vacationers through that.

Date of travel: September 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
1  Thank tripsrusKitchener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018 via mobile

Cons
- no online check in
- there was a discrepancy between between # of bags and actual luggage so they spent 2 hours counting everyone on the plane and recounting people and luggage until they got it right (nothing airline could do about it, apparently). During the delay they handed out cookies and gave updates on the intercom.
-served a full hot meal at 1am EST. Smelled and looked bad. Didn’t get one so can’t comment on taste.
-no in flight entertainment
-not enough leg room for tall person.
-departing gate is a bus ride from the main terminal

Pros
- fast check in at airport counter
- boarding set by zone number so less chaos
- boring flight
- only direct flight to azores
- I like flying red eye overseas

Date of travel: September 2018
Thank andrea g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018 via mobile

We flew Sata Airlines on Thursday Sept 20, 2018 out of Montreal,Quebec. Our flight was supposed to leave at 11:45 am, but was delayed until 10 pm. The worst part was that no one was there to answer any questions until we had to leave arrivals and go to Departures to see a Sata rep. It took around 20 minutes to get there. We had to leave customs and customs and come back and do it again. Our flight no had no flight schedule on the flight board and we had no idea what was happening. Eventually info would come up and it would tell us to go to this gate and then that gate. It changed gates maybe 6 times. We were exhausted and so frustrated. We lost a day of vacation. Anyways when we finally boarded the plane the staff was young and unprofessional. They wouldn’t turn off the lights, they were on their cell phones and Giggling and chatting so loud we couldn’t sleep. I would not recommend this airline to anyone.

Date of travel: September 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
1  Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC