We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flight crew were profesisonal and genuinely sweet”
Review of KLM Royal Dutch Airlines


Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The flight crew were all very polite and sweet. The aircraft was B777-200. It was the newest interior so the cabin appear clean and pleasant. The cabin was kept at a warm temperature and no individual vents per seat, so dress comfortably. The seat comfort was average in comparison to most major airlines, the seat space was on the smaller side. For a long haul flight, it can feel cramp. The lavatories were very small. Overall, it was a good flight option.

Date of travel: November 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank flipper0211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (22,082)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

236 - 240 of 22,082 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

While there are only two classes "economy" and "business". Anyone who flew economy and gave a good review is likely in a 10% minority. The first 10 rows of economy are equivalent to premium economy - but on a decapitated old plane with terrible screens.

The rest of economy class is absurdly small seats where you do not have the ability to get up if the person in front is reclined, and there is insufficient room for you to bend forward enough to reach the ground if needed to pick something up.

I traveled with colleagues, who both got row 10, while I was at row 40something, I had to pay additional just to move closer to the front of the plane (rows 20-25) have an up-charge just for being more forward.

My workplace paid the same price for all 3 tickets, I will raise this with our booking agency to ensure they do not book KLM again.

At the end of my trip, I plan to stay back for the weekend in Amsterdam where I am being joined by a family member, i bought the ticket for them before I flew (having read these reviews and thinking KLM is a good airline), today was the check in and they were also shafted to the back of the plane AND apparently there is no checked in luggage allowance for some reason - while my ticket had it. Again same priced ticket.

The airline charges tickets for a mainstream premium airline and appears to be operating on the brand goodwill generated in past time to fool people into thinking that you are somehow treated better than a no-frills budget airline like WOW or RyanAir. KLM charges for this flight (CAD) $1400 - $2000, Maybe November is peak seasons, who knows?

I have flown worldwide on a variety of airlines, this is by far the worst experience, and I have seen some ridiculous nonsense i thought would be hard to beat. I strongly advise you pay attention to recent reviews when considering the quality of this airline.

Additionally the aircraft servicing the YYZ to AMS flight is a run down 747 with tiny blurry screens, broken audio jacks, stained seats and carpet, etc

Date of travel: November 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
1  Thank blue_cheese_candy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A flight. Funny one since you leave at the same time that you arrive and pretty much just takes a toll on your sleep. Service in Portland was fast, Uber available at arrival and free WiFi too.

Date of travel: August 2018
Thank DonCesar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It was a night flight with crying babies. Horrible....
why not all parents, small children and babies in rows together in the same sector.

Date of travel: October 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank monalisaz1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I really like KLM, which is a good thing since I fly 60+ times a year with them. Ground and air crew are (almost) always professional, they're punctual and have good planes. However, a recent trip in business class was extremely poor value for money. So -what should you get for so much extra (roughly 3 times the economy price)?
Lounges: Glasgow was OK, but nothing special. Schiphol was full - couldn't find anywhere to sit (this was first thing Monday morning)
Food: adequate breakfast GLA-AMS for a one hour flight. Only another breakfast served on the two-and-a-bit hour sector to HEL, which is a bit of a cheat since it doesn't land until 13:15. In any case they ran out of my preferred choice and I couldn't eat the alternative - so just yoghurt and a small piece of cheese. Not at all satisfactory or even acceptable
Seating: you do get the middle seat empty, but otherwise you can get the same (small) increase in legroom in economy for a small supplement
Other benefits? no newspapers, no hot towels, nothing at all really
Verdict? Terrible VFM...

Date of travel: November 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
1  Thank Ashley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC