We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up in the air”
Review of Kenya Airways


Reviewed 26 February 2018

Our seventh return flight from Stockholm Arlanda to Nairobi via Amsterdam with KLM, returning via Paris to Stockholm with Air France.
This flight on board a Dreamliner, leaving just before midnight. Easy check-in, the usual snack in the restaurant and boarding at the appointed time. Everything went smoothly, but not really hungry in the middle of the night. Seven and a half hours to Paris, very early breakfast. Landing on time.
Next time we will upgrade for more legroom.

Date of travel: February 2018
Thank Lena O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (2,834)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,391 - 1,395 of 2,834 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2018

Pleasant in-flight staff. Good customer relations.The latest international flight I had with this airline was in September 2016 from Guangzhou to Nairobi. The service was truly of international standards. I have flown a number of international airlines, including BA, China Southern and Emirates. KQ compares neck to neck with these renowned airlines and even beats them in some areas, especially customer relations and the food department.

Date of travel: February 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank 34evanss
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 February 2018

This is a review of various flights taken over a two week period. Nairobi to Kisumu to Mombasa to Malindi and back (you get the idea). The domestic section of KQ (as Kenyan Airways is affectionately called locally) is a better product than the International but both seemed to meet my standards. There were auto upgrades since I am a Diamond Member on Delta which they code share. Seamless transition from New York/Amsterdam to Nairobi, then Mombasa. We cleared Immigration in Nairobi, then popped our bags right back on the belt to Mombasa. Check in with Sky Priority. Not sure how this will be handled now that KQ will be having non-stops to New York with competition by KLM and Delta.
Good service..they even manage to serve you juice, tea etc AND a snack on the 45 minute hop from Nairobi to Mombasa or Kisumu or Malindu. Flight attendants well dressed with fetching uniforms and smiles. Good show!! This airline has seen mismanagement in the past though so be on the watchout.

Date of travel: February 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
1  Thank NYCruiser914
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 February 2018 via mobile

I opted to bid for upgrade for my return flight from Hanoi to Johannesburg and back - this was a great decision. The comfort, space and service is amazing! The only downside of this trip is the Kenya Airways have stopped the direct Nairobi - Hanoi flight requiring a stopover in Bangkok (4 hours in my case) fortunately my outbound flight wasn’t yet affected. I look forward to flying Kenya again

Date of travel: November 2017
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
2  Thank Grobs2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 February 2018

The flight is a basic flight like any other. The seats were comfortable enough, although the pillow offered were tiny and thin. The food was standard fair and all perfectly edible.

My only problems were with the entertainment. There is so little selection in the way of new movies that we'd already seen everything they had to offer. It was all older ("classic") movies bar a small number of newer titles. After a month of being in Zimbabwe and flying back even in a different calendar year, I was looking forward to having at least a different selection on the way home, but it wasnt to be. The exact same movies were available... We didnt want to watch them in December, so in January we were till not interested.

When checking in at Harare, we asked for window and next to it. We were told that this would be fine. When we got on the plane, we found that we'd been given central seats nowhere near where we'd asked to be seated.

That said, the price was amazing and I'd travel again no problem, but with tablet filled with entertainment instead.

Date of travel: January 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
1  Thank NathanViva
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.