We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”
Review of Japan Airlines (JAL)


Reviewed 11 March 2020

One of our best flights ever. Two seats by the window and plenty of space for our feet made it very comfortable to go from Tokyo to Helsinki. Good and tasty food and drinks, and very friendly and service-minded crew. We slept very well in our seats with pillow and blanket available. We can highly recommend Japan airlines.

Date of travel: March 2020
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
1  Thank Bear4022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (9,062)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

41 - 45 of 9,062 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2020

Good service, nice food and enough space to squeeze out (just) from the middle & window seats without having to disturb the aisle seat. Only slight issue was the seats seemed firmer than other airlines and were a bit hard.

Date of travel: February 2020
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank Alastair D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2020 via mobile

I have been travelling to Japan regularly twice yearly. I love the good food, lovely scenery and great hotels. Since five years ago, I have been using JAL and no other airlines. The cabin crew are friendly and the food is enjoyable.
What I wish to emphasise is that they are very customer friendly. In view of the recent covid-19 outbreak; I cancelled my trip to Tokyo for arts auction. JAL allowed me to cancel all my international and domestic flights and gave me full refund within two weeks. I have different experience with my travel agent when I wish to cancel another trip to Europe for the same reason. From now on I would definitely consider JAL as my first choice.

Date of travel: October 2019
2  Thank kai sang alexan... w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2020

Whenever we can, we prefer to fly JAL. Their service and level of comfort is second to none. Last trip especially, the cabin was not cold, so we were perfectly comfortable without adding a wrap or blanket. And the food is wonderful.

Date of travel: November 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
1  Thank TheWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2020

JAL used to be a snob airline while they even used to see video how to be a JAL's cabin attendant in their flight. So, I used to avoid JAL because of their unfriendly service.

Firstly, the seats are so comfortable and wide. It made me relaxed during my whole of trip.

Served food is also improved comparing to salty previous foods.

Minor but some improvements are necessary on JAL are, for example:

1. Cabin attendants never helps passengers to lift up baggage, which is normally done by ANA.
2. English announcement is very poor.

Date of travel: February 2020
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank Koji T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US$USD
Ireland
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.