We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shortest flight Australia to Japan”
Review of Japan Airlines (JAL)


Reviewed 19 September 2018

Enjoyed an overnight direct flight from Melbourne to Japan. Not having a stopover and thus shorter travel time was great. The airline serves alcohol free of charge and for airline food is better than the usual. Staff were welcoming and service was good.

Date of travel: August 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank anniebarb2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

158 - 162 of 6,275 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2018

This was my first trip to Japan and I chose JAL as they are supposed to have a bit more leg room in economy. The flight times also suited me as it is an overnight flight and as there is next to no time difference you do not lose a day traveling. The first leg from Adelaide is a Qantas flight to Melbourne then a bit of a wait until you board the JAL flight around midnight. It was quite comfortable in economy but I would probably opt for a cheaper flight as it was not that much better in leg room. The overnight flight was great for me.

Date of travel: April 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank Michellenrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2018

The staff could not have done more to help out and make sure we were comfortable. They even had cardigans for us (they are to borrow, not keep) which helped when the temp fluctuates in the airplane. Nice and dark, all passengers were considerate to keep shades down as long as possible. Food was fair but the service shined!

Date of travel: September 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
1  Thank Luvingmywine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2018

I just return from Sapporo Japan flying with JAL Airlines this was my sixth trip to Japan being twelve international flights plus twelve domistic flights to Sapporo I all ways Fly with JAL, my first flight to Japan was with Qantas six years ago which is a good airline, but as I have a cultural interest in Japan now I find JAL provide the experience I like, flying economy is not so bad, price is right for a direct flight to Tokyo only 9hrs, i am not interested in cheap flights that take you about 24 or more hrs with stop over in other counties eg Hong Kong, JAL provide a good service with good in flight service, I all ways request an aisle seat, leg room is ok better than being cramped in a middle seat, food is mostly Japanese style, Airline staff always friendly and help full, all normal airline facilities, jAL also have a frequent Flyer program to earn points for future flights.
I will continue to fly JAL,

Date of travel: August 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
1  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2018

Excellent service and on time departure and arrival. Very scenic flight down to Osaka. Staff are very friendly and courteous. Can thoroughly recommend flwith JAL.

Date of travel: October 2017
1  Thank r0ssc0san
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC