We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great alternative from Australia to Europe”
Review of Japan Airlines (JAL)


Reviewed 5 August 2018

Great airline, always super efficient, friendly helpful staff, seamless connection in Tokyo.

Onboard wifi really works well, food is well presented & drinks well selected.

Date of travel: July 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
1  Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (9,063)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,187 - 1,191 of 9,063 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

I flew from Melboune to Tokyo to Moscow. Flights and seats were ok. I have flown in more comfortable and modern seat compartments. It was ok it not fantastic. The problem was food unless you liked or ate Japanese menu. My wife fell asleep on take off and was then told sorry all western food is gone. Japanese or starve. Not even sushi was on offer.

The tickets were ok but we will never fly with them again and I travel constantly.

Date of travel: July 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
5  Thank michaelsU408BL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018

I went Okinawa, Japan in March 2016.I flew from London to Tokyo by British Airways (BS) which was not as good as I expected, while I returned to London by Japanese Airlines (JAL), which added to my disappointment with BA. Anyway, JAL was the best airline I travelled with. The flights were amazing. The food on flight was amazing,just like had in Okinawa. I was surprised with the Free Wi-Fi service they had on the flight. Although, I was a bit uncomfortable with Legroom, I expected a bit of wide space for such a long flight.The flight attendants were excellent, helpful. They had provided a huge Entertainment options on board, headphones and shawl for cold.Amazing, overall my experience with the JAL was amazing, despite the legroom thingy.

Date of travel: September 2017
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank kamblenitin595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018

Legroom was very limited. Food was average . Flight attendants were attentive and helpful. Entertainment choices were ok but not fantastic.

Date of travel: July 2018
Thank HolidayJunkie_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2018

Both JAL and ANA are the representation of the Japanese service. Dedicated staff thinking in passenger service, giving you a fantastic experience when traveling. Everytime I can choose JAL I go with them.

Date of travel: June 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank AlfonsoSan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC