We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bottom of my list for Business Class travel”
Review of Iberia


Reviewed 12 February 2020 via mobile

New A350, so a nice plane with good seats (though a little lacking in privacy) and reasonable Wifi. But the dining experience was pretty dreadful, particularly on the inbound flight. The Cava did not match the quality of Champagne served on BA, Quantas, Cathay and, in the distant past, American, so on the inbound flight I opted for a Bloody Mary, to which no Tabasco was added. However, the pre flight drink was served with nuts or stuffed olives, which were very good. The food that followed was appalling - cheap, badly cooked and largely lacking in flavour. Starter included an anaemic cold soup, salad (mainly old lettuce, and some sliced olives - it had nothing to recommend it) and what looked and tasted like processed cheese garnished with a very sad and very dry shrivelled prune.
Main course was some rather dry salmon with some cooked shredded carrot and cabbage, I think, all swimming in a watery liquid - the constituents of which I could not determine. Dessert was chocolate ice cream or ‘vanilla cake’. The latter resembled a small bowl of super sweet artificial cream, quite revolting.
Cabin crew were all pleasant but the dinner service was very rushed (unnecessary on a 9 1/2 hour flight) the emphasis appearing to be on getting the cabin lights out as soon as possible to minimise customer demands on cabin crew. By 8.30pm we were all needed down for the night.
When lights came on again it seemed as though there was an interminable stream of lengthy announcements to irritate even more.
Amenity pack was OK, but nothing exceptional and entertainment was similar. So Iberia will not feature as my carrier of choice for future trips.

Date of travel: February 2020
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
1  Thank Mgb56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (20,223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

352 - 356 of 20,223 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2020

Check-in process: tried to check-in 2 pax at a time. System encountered an error at the second pap - instead of letting me sort it out first, it checked the first pap in nonetheless. Checking the second pap a little later guaranteed separate seats.

First segment: VIE-MAD. Legroom, beverages&food, entertainment - nothing that would differ from a low-cost airline. The almost 3-hour flight was packed and it was one of the most uncomfortable flights I have ever been on.

Second segment: MAD-MIA. Expected a lot more service-wise, having only flown with members of Star Alliance long-haul prior to this date.

The only advantage of this airline was the price of the ticket and it became obvious why that is.

Date of travel: March 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
2  Thank sabidobrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2020

Absolutely terrible staff onboard this flight - literally everyone we dealt with was rude.

The food was also pathetic on such a long flight.

But what really took the price was that they had no headphones to their passengers - which meant this 11,5 h flight, had literally NO entertainment.

When we asked about this they said “You’ve paid for us to take you from A to B and everything else is extra”. I tell you what, he was right. That was all they did.

The staff hardly spoke English and all in all - I WON’T fly with Iberia EVER again. And you shouldn’t either!

Date of travel: January 2020
3  Thank Johan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2020

Airbus was full and cabin baggage was not placed in locker directly overhead. On leaving the plane someone with an identical cabin bag took mine by mistake. Although I took his to ground handling mine was never returned. But, Porto is a port, so he might have been catching a ship.

Learning point - always tag cabin baggage and include contact details inside.

Date of travel: January 2020
    • Seat comfort
    • Cleanliness
    • Legroom
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
2  Thank Cosmopolitan800580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2020

We were in Valencia and HAD to be in London by 5:00 the next day. Horrible weather lead to our 4:30 EasyJet flight being cancelled, but not until 9:30. EJ's plans would have gotten us to London too late. We scrambled, made our way to Madrid and caught an Iberia flight that left on time and arrived early <:

The fare for tickets purchased about 12 hours before departure was much lower than anything else available that day.

The plane was clean and comfortable enough - kind of like the budget airlines, cramped but ok for a short flight.

Date of travel: January 2020
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
2  Thank TheDadDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.