We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Class flights to Australia”
Review of Etihad Airways


Reviewed 23 February 2018

Flew, via Abu Dhabi, to and from Melbourne from Edinburgh in Business Class - not cheap, but worth it. All flights landed on time, cabin crew were very attentive and choice of food (or not) was good

    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EtihadHelper, Manager at Etihad Airways, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2018

Hi Bob, thanks for your review. It’s always good to hear our guests enjoyed their time with us. We hope to welcome you on board again soon. *Ivy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (11,239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,348 - 2,352 of 11,239 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2018

I used to fly to the Middle East a lot and, in my humble opinion, there was little difference between the 3 main airlines, Etihad, Qatar and Emirates. They were all fabulous airlines.
Not any more, if this fight is an example of Etihads service. Tired plane, surly staff, poor service, awful food.
My next flight is with Emirates next month, hope they haven’t let their standards slip.

1  Thank ladybird2254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EtihadHelper, Manager at Etihad Airways, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2018

Hi there, this doesn't sound ideal. We appreciate you took your time writing about your experience with us. We value your insights and need those to improve our service. *Ivy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2018

I fly to Australia at least twice a year and have flown many different airlines. However Etihad is the best. The planes are all new, the service is second to none and the food is better than most airlines.

    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
1  Thank GrahamJubb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EtihadHelper, Manager at Etihad Airways, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2018

Hi, thanks for your kind words. We're happy to learn that you enjoy our service on board, as well as our food and beverage offer. We hope to welcome you on one of our flights again soon. *Ivy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2018

We booked this flight about 6 months in advance when planning a trip through India. About 6 weeks before the flight we got an email saying that they had changed the flight by 24 hours meaning we were arriving a day later than planned. The only other option was to fly via Delhi and on to Jaipur adding 6 hours to the trip with lay overs. The customer service was most unhelpful and wouldn't allow us to just fly to Delhi and pick up our tour there instead . We were not given any compensation or apology about this major change and we just had to accept it . The flight was ok but on this and other Etihad flights we took there was never any choice of meal left when they came to us. The seat pitch wasn't great either and the entertainment was dated. There was only 1 working toilet

    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank holidayseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EtihadHelper, Manager at Etihad Airways, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2018

Hi there, thanks for sharing your feedback with us as we are constantly trying to improve our service based on our guest's reviews. To investigate this further, please share your experience with us on our website under the tap "About us - Contact us - Feedback". Thanks! *Ivy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2018

Economy class is very basic. The seats are not that comfortable, there is not foot rest and no amenity kit. The food is average too.

Also as this flight goes through Abu Dhabi it is extremely long. As a Gold member on Virgin velocity, a partner airline, I was given incorrect information by the ground staff on which lounge i could use. As I was desperately wanting a shower before the next 14 hours flight I was sent to the wrong lounge. Then was told I could use a lounge after I had cleared US customs. Which took ages only to be told on the other side I could not use that lounge. I was furious about this. Why was I just not told the correct information to start with? This type of stuff matters to the traveller on long haul flights. Thankfully the staff at the US customs gate were a bit more sympathetic and gave me an exit seat for free so I'm grateful for that.
The flight was awful though, the toilets were filthy, loads of kids on it and the food was average. However, the staff as friendly. But again seats so uncomfortable. Would take singapore airlines over this airline any day. Etihad would be my last resort. I've only flown them once before a few years ago and had a rubbish experience back then. I swore never to fly them again. 10 years later hoping for an improvement but no, it's still rubbish.

    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
2  Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EtihadHelper, Manager at Etihad Airways, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2018

Hi Rachel, thanks for your review. We value your insights and need those to improve our service. If you would like to share more details about your experience with us, kindly fill out the feedback form on our website under the tap "About us - Contact us - Feedback". After submitting the form a case will be created for you and a case officer will get back to you as soon as possible. Thanks! *Ivy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC