We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty standard”
Review of China Southern Airlines


Reviewed 4 November 2018 via mobile

We flew akl to China which is a 12 hour flight. On the way to Guangzhou, the movies were pretty limited and seat very uncomfortable but on the way back, we were on a newer plane with more space and more movies, soundtracks etc. English was never an issue on both our flights as well as our flight to Phuket. The food was ok but you only get 2 meals over 12 hours and no snack in between, this was ok for us as we packed our kids extra snacks. Try and get into the toilets in the first half of the flight because i dont think they clean them as I took my 3 year old and there was crap all over the seat, it stayed like that theoughout our trip to Guangzhou, i even saw the flight attendant look at it and close the door

Date of travel: October 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
1  Thank Janenmarvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Write a reviewReviews (4,928)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,117 - 1,121 of 4,928 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2018

I could not complain about CSA in any way shape or form ..The flight was awesome the staff couldn't be more helpful if they tried ...they organised a wheelchair at every airport we stopped at as my husband fell over the week before we left ...nothing was too much for them

Date of travel: October 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank jan55fromsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 2 November 2018 via mobile

Note: If you’re traveling with SCA, double check that you spell your name correctly before confirming. They can’t change more than 3 characters of your name if you made a mistake. Had to cancel and book a new ticket.

Flight was clean, good space for your legs and tasty food. Generous luggage allowance. Staff was friendly and helpful. Would absolutely recommend this!

Date of travel: October 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
Thank fredthelead
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 2 November 2018 via mobile

Guangzhou Baiyun Airport is absolutely huge, so finding the China Southern Airlines transit accommodation counter was a bit of a mission. There are no signs that point to a specific CSA counter. To find it though, simply go out into the arrivals hall and turn right once you have entered the arrivals hall. Walk approx 100 metres to Gate 50 and you will find a Transit Accommodation Counter on your left. Present your boarding passes (or a print out of your booking confirmation if you prebooked online) and your accommodation will be confirmed. There is a waiting area near the counter for you to sit and wait for your hotel shuttle bus to pick you up and take you to your hotel. Shuttle bus will take you back to the airport to make your connecting flight. CSA will arrange a wake up call 30 mins before the shuttle leaves the hotel for the airport.

Date of travel: October 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
3  Thank Kanga_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 2 November 2018 via mobile

We initially had terrible trouble trying to anything online via the website. Until we worked out how to do it. If you are trying to make a seat reservation, or book transit accommodation (if entitled), there is a very specific way you need to enter your details to make this work (the instructions on the website are not clear as to what to do). Basically, when asked to enter your ticket number DO NOT enter any dots, dashes, gaps etc just enter the ticket number altogether. When entering your name, it must be expressed exactly as it appears on your ticket as SURNAMEFIRSTNAME (no spaces). If you have a middle name on your ticket, it must be expressed as SURNAMEFIRSTNAME MIDDLENAME (use a space between your surnamefirstname and middlename). If it asks for your email address, use the address you used for your booking (or the address to which your flight tickets were sent/received). From here you should able to make seat reservations, and pre book transit accommodation (you can prwview the hotels and not simply pick from a list at the transit accommodation counter).

Date of travel: October 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
2  Thank Kanga_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2022 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.