We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finding the transit accommodation counter”
Review of China Southern Airlines


Reviewed 2 November 2018 via mobile

Guangzhou Baiyun Airport is absolutely huge, so finding the China Southern Airlines transit accommodation counter was a bit of a mission. There are no signs that point to a specific CSA counter. To find it though, simply go out into the arrivals hall and turn right once you have entered the arrivals hall. Walk approx 100 metres to Gate 50 and you will find a Transit Accommodation Counter on your left. Present your boarding passes (or a print out of your booking confirmation if you prebooked online) and your accommodation will be confirmed. There is a waiting area near the counter for you to sit and wait for your hotel shuttle bus to pick you up and take you to your hotel. Shuttle bus will take you back to the airport to make your connecting flight. CSA will arrange a wake up call 30 mins before the shuttle leaves the hotel for the airport.

Date of travel: October 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
3  Thank Kanga_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (4,927)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,119 - 1,123 of 4,927 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2018 via mobile

We initially had terrible trouble trying to anything online via the website. Until we worked out how to do it. If you are trying to make a seat reservation, or book transit accommodation (if entitled), there is a very specific way you need to enter your details to make this work (the instructions on the website are not clear as to what to do). Basically, when asked to enter your ticket number DO NOT enter any dots, dashes, gaps etc just enter the ticket number altogether. When entering your name, it must be expressed exactly as it appears on your ticket as SURNAMEFIRSTNAME (no spaces). If you have a middle name on your ticket, it must be expressed as SURNAMEFIRSTNAME MIDDLENAME (use a space between your surnamefirstname and middlename). If it asks for your email address, use the address you used for your booking (or the address to which your flight tickets were sent/received). From here you should able to make seat reservations, and pre book transit accommodation (you can prwview the hotels and not simply pick from a list at the transit accommodation counter).

Date of travel: October 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
2  Thank Kanga_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 November 2018 via mobile

Security at the domestic terminal was very strict. We were swabbed for explosives 3 times at 3 different checkpoints. Make sure you aren't carrying water or cigarette lighters, as these will be confiscated. Terminal is so big we had to make use of the Enquiry desk (the girls speak English) to get directions to our gate. Plane was exceptionally clean and left on time, even arriving into Tianjin early. Would recommend China Southern Airlines.

Date of travel: October 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
2  Thank Kanga_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 November 2018 via mobile

Honestly, I had very low expectations given my experience with the US airline industry - I assumed it will be worse. This flight was a direct flight from Beijing (PEK) to Zhangjiajie (DYG) with one stop at Changsha Huanghua (CSX) airport.

SHORT VERSION: China Southern has a new raving fan, me.

LONG VERSION:

TICKET BOOKING & PURCHASE: I purchased a one way ticket online using the mobile app. Everything was clear, easy to follow and the app is user friendly. If you want to pay for the ticket using an international credit card, you need to register and create an account.

CHECK-IN & BOARDING: I checked-in online using the app and got a mobile boarding pass. Boarding was efficient and quick.

THE FLIGHT: The flight departed on time. The aircraft was spotless and did not squeak or rattle at all even during turbulence. As a nervous flyer I find this comforting. The flight attendants were efficient and provided great customer service. Even on a 2-hour flight we were served a hot meal, and it was great. The stop in CSX lasted an hour, where we had to deplane and re-board. Reboarding at CSX was as efficient as in PEK and the flight departed on time as well.

Finally, I hope this experience represents the China Southern’s product and service and not an isolated experience. It is breath of fresh air when I come across an airline that tries hard to treat customers with dignity and respect.

Date of travel: October 2018
2  Thank WorldTravelWithMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 November 2018 via mobile

Check in at airport was as you would expect at Brisbane. Staff were very strict with bag weights. People were being asked to repack their suitcases if they weighed more than the allowed 23kgs per suitcase for economy passengers. Carry on bags had a limit of 7kgs only. We were staying overnight in Guangzhou, travelling to Tianjin the following morning, so our luggage was checked all the way through to Tianjin. If you have such an overnight stopover, make sure you pack yourself an overnight bag as part of your carry on. No real need to pack toiletries as the hotels provided by the airline actually provides more than enough (toothbrushes, toothpaste, razor, shaving cream, hair combs, shampoo, bath gel etc). The plane we flew on to Guangzhou was really clean. Cannot fault the cabin crew. The service was absolutely fantastic. Lots of drinks provided throughout the flight, however, the food was about what you would expect in economy class. On board entertainment is somewhat limited, although there are movies, TV shows and games available. Arriving into Guangzhou was an eye opener. The airport is huge and security is very strict. We were fingerprinted twice, but no issues being allowed into China. Flight time from Brisbane was about 8 hrs 30 mins. Overall a very good flight.

Date of travel: October 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
2  Thank Kanga_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.