We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great flight but service was lacking”
Review of China Eastern Airlines


Reviewed 4 November 2019

Recently flew Sydney to Beijing via Shanghai and return. Aircraft was a newish A350, nice aircraft, comfortable seating in economy but the usual economy sized leg room. Flight left about 30 minutes late but was made up in flight. Meals were decent, choice of chicken or fish for first meal, I choose chicken which consisted of vegetables and chicken leg. Also served with water, fruit and a warm bun. Soft drink was also served, I did not ask alcohol. Was tasty and crew provided a warm towel to clean up afterwards. In flight entertainment was great, good choice of movies, tv or games. Aircraft had outside cameras to view from on top or underneath the aircraft as you are travelling. Cabin staff were not too friendly, personally I found the female staff to be rude and males much nicer. On transfer in Shanghai our connecting flight was delayed 2 hours. Service from counter staff was terrible. Airport announcement was barely readable, gate signage was not updated with new time and when I questioned a female staff member I got the cold shoulder and a grunt because I dared interrupt her mobile phone time.
Flew back on China Eastern as well, leg from Shanghai to Sydney was a China Eastern flight but on a Shanghai Airlines B787-900, again good seat, good food and same China Eastern entertainment on board. Cabin crew from Shanghai airlines were 100% better than China Eastern, they were really friendly, smiled and treated you like a customer.
Overall a pleasant flight, food and entertainment great, staff not so good. I would however fly them again.

Date of travel: October 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
2  Thank Departure24309458048
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (5,051)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

282 - 286 of 5,051 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2019

Mediocre flight. Seat area is filthy with much peanuts skin leftover on the seat. Asked the flight attendant if the meal came together with the named dimsum in the menu. She answered yes but it was not delivered.

Date of travel: October 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
2  Thank southdragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 November 2019

After reading some horror story reviews of this airline, particularly regarding the food and check-in process, I was pleasantly surprised by the overall experience with this airline.

That being said, it could've been better. While I did not encounter the non-English-speaking, rude, or unhelpful people at the check-in counters that I read about online, the check-in process was still extremely slow (no online option? weird in 2019..) and the in-flight food, while edible if you were hungry, left a lot to be desired.

Definitely not as bad as it could've been, but you get what you pay for I suppose and the price for this flight (416USD to the other side of the planet!) could not be beat.

Date of travel: October 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
1  Thank pabalebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 November 2019

I flew Hainan Airlines going over to Shanghai and China Eastern going back. China Eastern was cheaper but you get what you pay for. Boarding at PVG was disorganized with economy actually boarding first until error was realized half way through. Food was no where near business class level. Please dont ask for more than one bag of peanuts with your drinks. Service very basic. Seat/bed was satisfactory. No sheet but a blanket was provided. If you are just interested in sleeping this airline is a cheaper alternative.

Date of travel: October 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
1  Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 November 2019 via mobile

I had requested special meal as I am a vegan, both through Bravofly and KLM where they codeshare with China Eastern. During my travel consists of 3 international flights (Denmark-Amsterdam-Shanghai-SouthKorea) the longest one is the 11 hours longhaul from Amsterdam to Shanghai. When I asked for vegan meal the flight attendant was ignorant as he doesn’t even know what vegan meal is, though he knew the term Vegetarian, he rudely and unfriendly answered they don’t have any vegetarian meals and no care at all throughout the whole flight. Absolutely horrible to fly with as a vegan. Never fly with them again.

Date of travel: November 2019
2  Thank sydney_park_ey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.