We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasantly surprised”
Review of Avianca


Reviewed 25 May 2018

We've heard little about Avianca before this trip, not sure what to expect. But we were pleasantly surprised. All four legs of the flight were on Avianca's 787. We found service and catering out of Bogota to be much better than out from LA & Madrid. Quality of flight attendants varied greatly. Two flights out of Bogota the service were excellent, and two other flights the service left a lot to be desired. On the flight out of Madrid, one of the flight attendant even had attitude when we made a drink request. Again, meal quality varied greatly too. The flights out of Bogota the meals were good, but flight out of LA & Madrid the food was like... airplane food. The seats were comfortable, enough space for an ok sleep. The flagship lounge in Bogota is stylishly designed, but on the small side and catering and amenities limited. Avianca uses Star alliance lounge in LAX & Iberian lounge in Madrid.

Date of travel: May 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank ventsurlonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (18,720)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,883 - 1,887 of 18,720 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2018

I flew from Belize to Quito via El Salvador on May 8, 2018 and Quito to Tegucigalpa on May 11, 2018. Very comfortable flight with decent leg space. Although the flight from El Salvador to Quito was delayed by 4 hours, the staff was courteous enough to serve us dinner and drinks outside the gate (El Salvador to Belize)

But I had a horrible experience traveling from Quito to Tegucigalpa on May 11, 2018 as the ground staff during the check-in were very rude, cold and careless. They made us stood at the counter for about 45 minutes despite showing all the Valid Visas and other documents. The in-flight crew members were great and warm. So I have a very mixed opinion when it comes to Avianca.

Date of travel: May 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank Mohit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2018

In recent years, I have travelled to Colombia at least three times per year and thus, have tried multiple airlines. In my experience, the best airline traveling to and from Colombia is Avianca.
Planes are brand new and each seat includes a personal entertainment system to make the flight more enjoyable. Their service is unparalleled. Flight attendants are very helpful and extremely cordial and professional. They also provide the best economy food compared to other airlines. In additional, as an international flight you are allowed to travel with 2 pieces of luggage without any additional costs.

Date of travel: May 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank ncstavro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2018 via mobile

Avianca Flight O68518 and back to Sao Paulo O68519 were very comfortable with bed a very good service. You have enough space for your hand luggage at my place.

The most important was: both flights were in time
And toll papers were giving during the flight, in order not to loose time at the airport.

My collegues who did the wrong selection to take LaTam had to suffer again repeatingly flight cancelations and time losses up to 24 hours.

Date of travel: April 2018
Thank wolframa446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2018

There is only one schedule for this flight: it leaves at midnight (Bogotá time) and arrives at around 3:00 pm (London time). The return flight leaves London at around 8:00 pm and arrives at Bogotá around 3:30 am. It is an inconvenient schedule because it it is a long flight, so you're often very tired once you arrive at your destination. However, I have resolved on sleeping almost the entire flight from Bogotá to London. There are three meals during the flight: I usually only eat the breakfast, which is either eggs or a granola and yogurt. The staff are very nice and they will do their best to obtain anything you need or ask them for.

I enjoy this flight because it is the only direct flight to the UK from Bogotá, which saves up a lot of time as opposed to a lay over in Europe. Avianca in general is also a great airline, which I am loyal to because of the Lifemiles.

Date of travel: July 2017
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank veronicacopellod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.