We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don’t fly American Airlines”
Review of American Airlines


Reviewed 28 May 2024

American Airlines overbooked the flight and kicked myself and two other passengers off of the flight. We had to find a place to stay and book our own flight back. It has been months and we have not been reimbursed. I have been emailing constantly to find out more information. The whole process costed over $1000. Completely unacceptable.

The flight was horrible. The attendants were less than friendly and were talking about how much they hate their job the whole flight. I would recommend any other airline above this one.

Date of travel: April 2024
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank 824alaynag
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (79,947)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

568 - 572 of 79,947 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2024

Flight has been cancelled several times. Departure was 5 am and still not in Des Moines. The weather has been fine and no one has given any information.

Date of travel: May 2024
Thank Rachelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 May 2024

Best experience ever cabin crew was amazing in flight entertainment 10/10 and the pilot was very funny during the flight 10/10 best airline

Date of travel: May 2024
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 May 2024

Flight got cancelled due to some technical fault. We were asked to talk to customer care which was places on the other end of the terminal (it was just a bench of 2 rude agents). They could have come to our gate instead of making us roam around with luggages. Even after standing in position 5 in the queue, we had to wait 2 hours 15 minutes for our turn. We were informed the flight was cancelled due to bad weather in Dallas (weather.com said everything was fine at Dallas though). Upon asking we were informed that those technical weather details won't be available on Google and general public cannot be educated about that (basically some nonsense reason was given to shut our mouth) and so he cannot book us hotels. We asked for a letter saying the flight has been cancelled so that we can claim refund from credit card insurance (we used Chase sapphire card to book the tickets). The customer agent said he cannot provide any such letter. Later we asked requested of he can at least take a photo of his computer screen so that we can submit that as a proof for our claim to chase credit card. He feared and said the reason for cancelling the flight was not weather and said he can book us hotels this time. It was clear scam by a big company. Never fly American airlines. We had to loose a lot of activities that we had booked at Costa Rica because of this. We understand that things can go wrong anytime, but that cannot be an excuse for them to treat us badly. Not worth flying American airlines

Date of travel: May 2024
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank Deepak M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 May 2024

The airlines was delayed and cancelled. I was rebooked into a flight to LGA which wasn't my final destination. The airlines was not supportive and I wouldn't recommend them to anyone.

Date of travel: May 2024
Thank nupur j
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.