We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Domestic flight”
Review of American Airlines


Reviewed 25 September 2018

American has come a long way since combining with US Air. The plane was new, clean and the cabin staff pleasent and efficient We took of with a fully loaded flight, on time and arrived 22 mins early. The seat was comfortable and I had pleanty of leg room The food was a little above the usualy airline handout was, tasty and amble
I will be flying AA again as long as they keep up the new standard

Date of travel: September 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank W4499DUjohnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (48,899)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,996 - 3,000 of 48,899 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2018

Very good. Some turbulence but pilot navigate it well. All staff good. Free movies. Free drink and snack.

Date of travel: September 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank maria0415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2018 via mobile

Cancelled flight 10 minutes before boarding. Offered a cheap hotel and a 24 hour delay. Gets better. A week later they cancelled the return flight your if Durango. No offer for accommodations. But we can rebook you 36 hours later. Oh BTW- we raised your checked bag fee by 20%.
I will never- never fly AA again.

Date of travel: September 2018
Thank Scott T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2018

Our extended family of 6 adults and 6 children flew on AA flight 3410 on 3/32/2018.
We had made our reservation months in advance, and had received written confirmation of our seat assignments. However at check-in, we discovered that our family members were scattered throughout the place and that our children were separated from their parents. The AA agent said that she had no idea why or how this had happened. She made a few seat changes, but our family remained scattered throughout the place and out children remained separated from their parents during the flight.

Date of travel: March 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Legroom
    • Value for money
Thank enochjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2018 via mobile

My wife and I scheduled a trip to Punta Cana, booked flights last November with American Airlines, first time with American Airlines. A month prior to the trip American Airlines called to tell us the flight from Omaha to Miami added a stop and would take an additional 24 hours for us to make it to Punta Cana. A day that we paid for at the resort. It was also said to be our fault for booking the flight so early so they wouldn’t be able to do anything for us. We found a flight out of Kansas City that would work and still get us to Punta Cana on schedule. American Airlines didn’t give us a break at all. On top of that there is nobody you can talk to. We were instructed to email client relations. So we had to rent a car, drive 2.5 hours and pay the difference in the flight. Unreal. We checked in early using the app only to have to check in again once we got to the airport. More problems, used the kiosk to print our passes and checked bag only for the kiosk not to print. $25 paid at the kiosk, we were taken up to get help at the desk where we were told since the receipt didn’t print the card wasn’t ran. Another $25. More problems arose as my seat was broken once we boarded. Flight attendant, didn’t care repeatedly telling me to put my chair in the upright position after I had shown him multiple times it was broken.

We got home and shocker, the card was ran twice so we tried to get our money back for the initial charge that didn’t print at the kiosk. My wife spent two hours on the phone, with the wonderful assistance of our credit card company, finally able to talk to someone from American Airlines only to have her tell us to email client relations.

For a first time flying American Airlines there were nothing but problems and got the run around. Customer service that doesn’t have a voice behind a line you can call is unbelievable. Oh well, find it hard to ever consider American Airlines for future travel.

Date of travel: September 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
Thank Brillj10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC