We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience - as expected”
Review of Air Canada


Reviewed 24 September 2018

In September I flew from Denver to Copenhagen via Toronto. And apart from the fact that I missed the ETA part (which is crazy and obsolete when only In Transit) and therefore had issues with on-line check-in - The experience was in line with other air-lines within the Star-Alliance -> good, tending to very good. Service in the airport and on the plane was great as expected. Thank you :-)

Date of travel: September 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (18,263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,118 - 1,122 of 18,263 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2018

We paid for a Business Class ticket on this flight 9 months previously, and the day of the flight, the found out that the flight had been advanced by 3 hours. Glad we checked! We had not been told of this change. This meant that we now had a 6 HOUR layover in Heathrow!! Then, "to add insult to injury" - we were told at check in that the flight no longer had a business class section!! It had been changed several months before - with no advice to us. This is an overnight flight and we'd booked it for the FLAT beds to get some sleep. The premium economy seats were no substitute for a good night's sleep! This meant that we were awake for 38 hours between sleeps - having "missed" the flat beds. There is NO excuse for Air Canada NOT advising us of the significant time change AND of the LACK of Business Class.

Date of travel: September 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
1  Thank gkach53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018 via mobile

Flights in both directions were fine although the staff on the inbound flight seemed a bit more cheerful. The outbound flight crew were very amenable but barely had a smile between them. As comfortable as economy can be. Entertainment was good. Food was better from Canada. Air Canada has a flight back to UK during the day which suited us better

Date of travel: September 2018
Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018

In September (2018) We flew from Vancouver to Copenhagen to take a North Europe cruise with Norwegian (NLC), fully expected to have to pay anything to drink or eat. In the flight between Vancouver and Toronto, this was indeed the case: nothing to drink or eat except water. Passengers have to pay $3.5 dollars to buy a pair of flimsy earbuds for its A/V entertainment. However, the flight between Toronto and Copenhagen, as it was an international flight, was totally different. The services and entertainment were far better than expected. There were two HOT meals. Several services of drinks ranging from clamato juice to wine... The earbuds were free and the A/V entertainments were much better both in programs and picture quality. Yes Air Canada is back in my good book again.

Date of travel: September 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank DrLiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018 via mobile

At short notice, Air Canada was great value versus United Airlines. As I wanted to fly Star Alliance, there were no other reasonable cost/time options. Short layover in Toronto helped make that decision.

Check-in at SFO was a breeze but the directions to the lounge were extremely vague. A couple of questions cleared that up.

I had ordered Hindu Veg meals and the items were sad on both the flight legs. Even though the business class was not full, I was told that no substitute meals were available as they had only boarded the exact amount.

The seating was 1-2-1 across in two cabins for the business class. The last side of the front cabin had no entertainment from Toronto to Delhi - the long leg. A few folks who could, did move to other seats. The rest were offered a voucher to use on line to get some compensation. The vouchers did not work.

AC computer system refused to accept the coupon code. After frustration wrote to customer care and they were quick in their reply. They offered us 10% discount on a future AC flight good for a year. Great if you are flying AC, and totally useless if you are not. I wish they would emulate their Asian cousins who give a $100 voucher good for anything, including any duty free item.

No night-suits, not even in the 14 hour flight! The amenities were boring and the liquor cabinet must Jane stocked by a relative of the guys who must stock the United flights! Come on gang, learn from Swiss or Singapore airlines.

Return flight was on United Polaris. So easy to compare. United won this round!

Date of travel: September 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
Thank SKG109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC