We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Narita to Gold Coast”
Review of Jetstar Japan


Reviewed 17 January 2018

Awful service. We paid online for luggage 4 cases weighing 25, 25, 20 and 15 kg and when we checked in they were all under. The agent said we had to pay another 4000 Yen as we had not paid for extra. We explained that we had and she said she was unable to check us in so sent us to another agent. He was extremely aggressive and kept shouting "You pay, too much luggage" My husband explained the cases were all under weight and he said no you have too much. We asked if he could confirm the total weight but he refused. He then shouted "card declined, you pay now" We had not received anything to say the card has been declined. In the end he said we had to re-queue to check in or pay. Our 3 girls aged (7,9 and 11) were starting to get worried and it was getting late so we just paid it. I saw at least another 2 customers in same position arguing they had paid and then being charged again. Never again.

Date of travel: January 2018
1  Thank missmoos2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (757)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

80 - 84 of 757 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2018

In December we flew Flexi-bus to allow us to be flexible (booked the flight in July 2017.

We flyJetstar a couple of times a year internationally but this was our first Japan Philippines flight.

Everything was as usual with Jetstar through the check n and boarding and the flight and attendants were all good.

The plane was very budget....its a 4.5 hour flight but no in-flight entertainment, the seats seemed small and uncomfortable.

The meal was atrocious, not usual for Jetstar. Unnaturally sweet sauce, veges boiled to extinction, disappointing...

Date of travel: December 2017
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
1  Thank GordonAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018

Make sure you choose the nominated luggage when you originally book, and dont add any luggage on manage my booking afterwards or you will get hit a ridiculous fee. There were also no meals to order on our flight from Cairns to Narita as they were "sold out" 2 months prior to the flight. A tip is to have the meal you order when they bring it out, as we werent hungry at that time and when we asked for it later on, the meal was not available, even though it was paid for in manage my booking!!!! Very poor service from Jetstar and really not even that cheap by the time you add luggage, seats etc i would pay the extra a go with a much better airline. We assumed this was an international flight and paid for parking at international terminal, only to find out on check in it was domestic since we had to stop at Cairns first. They dont transfer your luggage, so you need to pick it up in Cairns and check it in again. When i questioned the costs when you add things on "manage my booking" i was told it was an extra cost for them to do it!!! Im not sure how that is when i havent checked in yet and I AM THE ONE doing the booking information. It would have to be super cheap for me to consider Jetstar again for a long haul.

Date of travel: November 2017
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank Patsy1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2017 via mobile

Pleasant all round experience for a LCC. B.y.o or buy on board...that’s the style.
Cabin attendants were full of smiles and made the flight shorter with their warmth.

Date of travel: December 2017
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
Thank Loolew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2017

There was a promo deal and we got that flight from Hanoi to Osaka for about $126, included check in packages. The flight was pleasant, standard for a budget one.

Date of travel: October 2017
Thank Ivy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC