We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'd rather walk than fly Aeromar again!”
Review of Aeromar


Reviewed 11 March 2022

I’m giving Aeromar one star only because the template here won’t allow me to give it less. Let’s see. Where do I start? We booked round trip from Mexico City to Zihuatanejo after we had to postpone our trip and the Aeromexico connecting flight we had before was no longer available. First off, when we checked our bags in MEX they charged us double ($100 for two bags) because we didn’t pay online. There was no mention of this penalty on the English language version of their website. Next, our flight was delayed an hour with no explanation or an idea when we would leave. The board continued to read “on time” throughout

But these issues were nothing compared to what was yet to occur. A few days before our scheduled departure for home, while on vacation, they sent us an e-mail saying our flight was now going out later, causing us to miss our connection in MEX to return home. Multiple attempts to reach them by e-mail and phone while in Mexico were fruitless and many of the phone numbers on their website and earlier emails confirming flight details went into oblivion. When we finally were able to connect with an agent they told us it would cost us $250US to change and fly out the day before (as no earlier flights were going out on our day of departure). There was also going to be a 750 peso change fee! This was outrageous since they were the cause of our troubles. In the end, we stayed on the new Aeromar flight time and rescheduled our Delta flight home form MEX to go out a day later because Aeromar was unbending.

This entire disaster cost us hundreds of dollars in increased flight costs, overnight costs in MEX, etc. plus, we spent hours stressing and trying to fix the predicament they put us in while we were expecting to be on the beach.

We’ve traveled over the world including some small regional airlines (ever hear of AeroTucan?) but have never been treated anywhere near as poorly and with as much disdain as Aeromar has treated us. Never, never again. We will walk before we fly Aeromar.

Date of travel: March 2022
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
2  Thank IcicleCreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (461)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 461 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2022

First time ever using this unscrupulous Airline..! flight to Mexico City… using AeroMar from Mexico City to Acapulco abs back to Mexico City for our flight back to Houston, their website totally confusing to add a second traveler, got the wrong confirmation double my husband’s name, now they want to charge us double to add my name..! Their systems are screw up..! and the people that takes care Customer Service..! We are now canceling both flights, WE CAN NOT in good faith use this “Airline”

Date of travel: February 2022
1  Thank MrSartorialTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 January 2022

I don't know why I always think "The horrible things in these reviews can't possibly happen to everyone. They would go out of business if this was everyone's experience. I'll be fine!" I am not fine. The airline canceled both of my flights and the new flight they tried to move me to will cause me to miss my connection to New York. Now I'm trying to cancel so I can fly on another airline and they refuse to give me a refund.

Fly at your own risk, this is not an honest or capable airline.

Date of travel: January 2022
    • Customer service
1  Thank Andy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 January 2022

Two months ago I traveled to Guadalajara from Puerto Vallarta and back on the bus. I was a long journey (6 hours each way on the bus). Last week I went to Guadalajara again and decided to fly to save time. I found afternoon departing flights on Aeromar for not much more than the bus (722 pesos each way - the bus was 585 pesos each way) so I booked a round-trip for 1444 pesos. I booked directly on the Aeromar website which was surprisingly easy (and in English). My flight from PVR-GDL was on-time and the online check-in was easy, boarding was fast and friendly and the inflight service was friendly and surprising - they served a snack and drink on the 35 minute flight. My return flight to PVR was the exact same experience, albeit a slightly less friendly inflight crew. All in all, I was extremely impressed with the ease of my journey with Aeromar and will definitely fly them again.

Date of travel: January 2022
1  Thank flyboy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 January 2022

I was scheduled for a flight from Cancun to Flores on January 9th at 8pm - Flight VM1303.

The flight was cancelled without any notice at the airport and myself and 5 other passengers were stuck at the airport without any explanations for the same reasons. So far, I just received 1 email including the recap of the trip and could not process the online checkin.

The airport removed the flight from their screen without any announcements nearly 3hours from the flight, I arrived terminal 2 at 6pm.

We have not been able to find anyone working at Aeromar. The online checkin was not open, no Team members or office in the whole terminal.

The few Team Members we found did not help in anything and just told us they couldn't do anything at all without explaining to us the situation. no help, no answers, no actions. they just kept telling us to 'speak with your travel agency'.

We understood that cabin crew must have been infected with covid, but not even sure. and no official documents were given to us.

My Mexican visa was expiring and it was a necessity for me to leave the country on that day, which cost me a new flight the next day and all that it includes.

The customer service from Aeromar at the airport was just awful, disrespectful, and extremely low overall. Not even an office, no official documents, no managers, no customer service.

The worst part is that on Flight Radar, we could see that the flight took off at 8:03pm !

On this day, I still dont have any news from them, I sent several emails and numbers are linking to nowhere.

I wish to be refunded at the earliest.

Thank you,

Date of travel: January 2022
    • Customer service
    • Value for money
4  Thank ohohnarvalow
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.