We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
william k wrote a review Mar 2020
Calabash, North Carolina28 contributions46 helpful votes
We finally did our bucket trip to Alaska. The service was outstanding to say the least. The food was the best I have ever had on any ship. The excursions were all planned out and were great.Can't wait to do another Viking trip.
Read more
Sail Date: April 2019
Cabin Type: Balcony
Type of Trip:
Destination: Alaska
Cabin
Dining
Service
Pools & Sundecks
Onboard Activities
Entertainment
Value
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Scroll below for other great reviews

Viking Star

62 reviews
 All photos (2,265)2,265
Full view
Traveller (437)
Common Areas (1,107)
Dining and Bars (753)
Itineraries for this ship
Itinerary
10 Night Cruise to the Baltic Sea
Departure date
Wednesday, 25/05/22
Route
Stockholm, Stockholm, St. Petersburg, St. Petersburg, St. Petersburg, Tallinn, Visby, Bornholm, Copenhagen, Copenhagen
View Map

Overview

About
Passengers: 930   |   Crew: 550
Passengers to crew: 1.69:1
Passengers to space: 51:1
Launched: 2015   

Cabins

Balcony
Cabin size: 225 - 280 sq. ft.
Connected rooms: 0
Accessible rooms: 0
Maximum passengers: 2
Number of cabins: 418

Activities & entertainment

Activities (15)
  • Live Music
  • Cooking Demonstrations
  • Enrichment Lectures
  • Fitness Center
  • Hot Tubs (2)
  • Hydrotherapy Pool
  • Interactive Games
  • Lanai
  • LivNordic Spa*
  • Nordic Ice Room
  • Pools (2)
  • Salon*
  • Shipwide Books
  • Sports Deck
  • Trivia
Entertainment (5)
  • Atrium Performances
  • Pap's Explorers' Lounge
  • The Theatre
  • The Viking Living Room
  • Torshavn
Dining (12)
  • The Chef's Table - Rotational
  • Armagnac Tasting*
  • Wintergarden - Afternoon Tea
  • Aquavit Terrace - Casual
  • Theatre Bar - Cocktail Bar*
  • Viking Bar - Cocktail Bar*
  • Pool Grill - Fast Food
  • The Kitchen Table - Interactive
  • The Restaurant - International
  • Manfredi's Italian Restaurant - italian
  • Mamsen's - Norwegian
  • Pool Bar - Pool Bar*
* May require additional fees
Traveller rating
  • 43
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 4
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Z4347BUpatc wrote a review Jan 2022
Orlando, Florida3 contributions
This was our first Viking cruise we had high expectations as repay a premium to cruise on viking but it did not met our expectations. The food was just OK as well as the entertainment. The room was spacious but was in need of a refresh, stains on the carpet and wear and tare on the furniture. Embarkation was a mess, nobody met us at the airport we had to walk around the outside to get from one terminal to the other where we found a Viking agent escorting a group to the bus to get to the cruise terminal. Excursion were Ok some not very well organized and not worth the money. WE were very disappointed and most likely will not cruise on Viking again, we like the haven on Norwegian and think it is a much better value for the money with better service and better food choices , I was very disappointed with the bakery rolls and breakfast offering kind of bland. I would not recommend Viking there are better choices and better values. Never again
Read more
Helpful
Share
jim587 wrote a review Apr 2020
Arlington, Texas11 contributions15 helpful votes
Great cabin with balcony ...Ship was right sized appx 900 passengers Food was wonderful...We spent one overnight in Barcelona and one night in London on our own. We were able to have a private pre scheduled tour with another traveling couple.
Read more
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Judy J wrote a review Mar 2020
Sydney, Australia427 contributions160 helpful votes
We could not fault the staff on this beautiful ship - the Viking Star. The ship itself was immaculate, our room beautifully appointed and the staff polite and friendly - each and everyone of them. We met some beautiful people working on the ship. Their training is extremely thorough and of a very high standard. They cared for us and attended to our needs, even anticipating and offering help before we asked. Just brilliant. Josephine, our State Room service attendant is a very special lady. My only criticism of the food would be there is too much emphasis on Sushi and seafood. Because we are on the water does not mean we all want to eat seafood, in fact my husband cannot eat it and I prefer not to. Otherwise the quality of the food was as good as it could get. Staff in all the dining areas were attentive but not suffocating. The onshore tours we did were good except for one in Alta where we were taken to a "world famous" slate workshop, miners cabins and Sami housing. We did not need to stand around in the snow watching a video of the Northern Lights on a small screen, nor go shopping for slate items (weight?). It was a very uncomfortable and unrewarding evening. Our reason for the trip was to hopefully see the Northern Lights and we got lucky. We had a tour which took us out to the carpark of a frozen lake and the colour teased us at one stage and gently faded only to return an hour or so later in glorious shapes and sizes. Wow! Leaving the ship on our last morning was smooth as silk, no crowding, no herding, so well done. What a great crew! Thank you.
Read more
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Celtic-Wanderer wrote a review Mar 2020
SCOTLAND725 contributions284 helpful votes
A first Viking ocean cruise experience, and hopefully others will follow (once the world has opened up for business again!). The Viking experience was, for me a 5* one in the round.....their organisation/logistics/crew/catering/entertainment by and large was spot on. The ship was spotless all of the time, even after big events, the cleaning/clearing was efficiently dealt with every time. The entertainment element was good with variety of options available and communications via their Viking Daily Newsletter very comprehensive. I was impressed too by the TV channels.....very up to the minute offerings as well as great information for guests, including a ship tracker and camera. It looked as if every crew member was happy to serve you and nothing seemed to be problem - any requests were dealt with efficiently and pleasantly. A hard working team of Viking staff/crew indeed! Despite some bad weathers preventing port stops, guess were kept informed as to what was happening and why. This is a company who has pretty much thought of everything to make the customer experience a positively memorable one. With one exception....the choice of hotel in Bergen - the Raddison Blu, was very poor indeed. Not a 4* experience, and I hope Viking heed the feedback on this to examine their contract with Radisson...there are other hotels in the city which I'm sure would provide a higher standard for Viking customers. That aside, I can whole heartedly recommend this company.....by the way, their river cruises are pretty good too!
Read more
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Linalot1 wrote a review Mar 2020
Clevedon, United Kingdom53 contributions11 helpful votes
We have just returned from an amazing cruise with Viking Star. Staff, Food and fellow guests were lovely. We managed to see the Northern Lights.
Read more
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456

Upcoming itineraries

Itinerary
10 Night Cruise to the Baltic Sea
Departure date
Wednesday, 25/05/22
The map for this itinerary is not available at this time.
Itinerary
Prices are cruise only, per person, double occupancy, and are provided by our partners. Taxes, fees and port expenses are not included. Fuel supplements may apply. Availability of prices is subject to the supplier’s pricing availability.