We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
T. Jordan wrote a review Jul 2020
Bootle, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
Me, my sister and my parents decided to go on the MV Ventura for our holiday in 2019, and I can easily say it was one of the best cruises I've been on. OK, I've only been on one other but this one was very good.

So... we had to drive down to Southampton from Liverpool and stay overnight before we got on the cruise ship, but it wasn't anything to do with P&O so that's completely irrelevant. First impressions? The cruise was big compared to my last cruise. It looked pretty clean, so that was all good.

We were situated in room E303 during our stay. It was small for four people, but that was to be expected. At least the room was clean and tidy. Oh, and we got dark chocolates when they cleaned our room everyday so that was a bonus.

As for the food and drink, the food was very nice. There was so much to choose from during both lunch and tea. You had little bars serving up pizza and fried chicken for lunch (both of which were poolside) and then you could go to a selection of restaurants for tea. The only trouble was black-tie evenings when we couldn't dine in the a la carte, so we went to the buffet, but the buffet offered good food too. Oh, and who could forget the drinks? The soft drinks package was quite nice, but the only thing they didn't have was Pepsi Max, so I had to opt for diet instead.

The entertainment, in my opinion, was rather good too. In the theatre, they showed a film every afternoon. They were relatively new films, but the only issue was they didn't use as much screen space as I think they could've. We saw Bohemian Rhapsody, and it was rather small compared to another film we watched a day earlier.

The teen's club (or H2O) fostered a good environment for making friends too. I made lots of friends there, and sometimes we would go to events or hang round the bars of an evening.

Overall, this cruise was amazing.
Read more
Sail Date: August 2019
Cabin Type: Inside
Type of Trip:
Destination: Europe
Cabin
Dining
Service
Pools & Sundecks
Onboard Activities
Entertainment
Value
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Scroll below for other great reviews

P&O Ventura

141 reviews
 All photos (266)266
Full view
Traveller (242)
Common Areas (95)
Dining and Bars (32)
Itineraries for this ship
Itinerary
12 Night Cruise to Europe
Departure date
Friday, 17/12/21
Route
Southampton, Porto Santo, La Palma, Gran Canaria, Lanzarote, Lisbon, Southampton
View Map
Cruise OnlyUS$1,599pp
View Deal
Cruise OnlyUS$1,825pp
View Deal

Overview

About
Passengers: 3,078   |   Crew: 1,205
Passengers to crew: 2.55:1
Launched: 2008   

Cabins

Balcony
Cabin size: 193 - 272 sq. ft.
Connected rooms: 0
Accessible rooms: 16
Maximum passengers: 4
Number of cabins: 622

Activities & entertainment

This ship's activities will be coming soon!
Traveller rating
  • 55
  • 36
  • 29
  • 13
  • 8
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
ccfceuropesNO1 wrote a review Nov 2021
Wales, United Kingdom423 contributions257 helpful votes
Be careful what you book…….we booked an 11 day cruise around the Canaries,Lisbon and Madeira. Firstly let’s start by saying we travelled with a little 2yo girl and we’re looking forward to being able to use the nursery on board for a few hours each day. Even though right up to boarding this was still advertised when we went to check in to the nursery we were informed that the under 4s wasn’t allowed to be left alone!! Talk about false advertising!! The entertainment on board was very poor. Several times the band and entertainers never turned up when scheduled leaving everyone scratching their heads as other poor acts were left to fill in. The theatre had to be booked in advance but there were no drinks allowed inside the theatre. The Ultimate drinks package only covers half the drinks menu and is certainly NOT worth the money. We had to miss our Madeira stop all together because one person had to be taken off the ship fir COVID. We were forced to sail to Gran Caneria even though we were docked in Lanzarote. On our cruises whenever we missed a stop the captain certainly made up for it by stopping elsewhere but not on this ship. We had yet another day at sea with crap entertainment!!! Overall one of the worse cruises we have ever been on.
Read more
Helpful
Share
Peter F wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
On this cruise we’re I am writing this the crew have been so good with cleaning to ensure that the risk is as low as possible. All of this is then thrown out of the window by P and O allowing all of the lifts to be used by any number of people at once. This makes no sense at all. On our Iona cruise we felt totally safe with 4 to a lift but on here we are on edge in a lift all the time. Also when you are the first on it is so difficult to then get out. P and O really need to address this. We will not be cruising again until the Covid issue is resolved by the government as at the moment why put yourself at more risk on a cruise.
Read more
Helpful
Share
JohnHB53 wrote a review Oct 2021
Alloa, United Kingdom126 contributions61 helpful votes
Firstly I'm not the type of person that normally complain, but find that there were a few things about this cruise that I didn't like. Having thought we got a very good deal on the cruise which suited us and new places to see, the ports of call were all new to us both in Portugal & Spain, Gibraltar. After all this time it was certainly good to get away. They advertise that drink prices on the ship are the same as UK, I would say this is misleading I would say UK prices plus. Some of the restaurants on the ship are an additional cost and for us never offered value for money, service was first class but paying an additional £84 we thought was exceptionally high. But our real big additional cost was Wifi £110.00 that is not a cabin charge that was for a mobile device. One of our shore trips was cancelled at the last minute and we are still waiting on our refund, according to them there was an issue refunding my card the £64, however they found it easy enough to take £1,343.00 additional on board charges from the same card. There is absolutely no point in contacting customers services because they never respond to any emails. I had an issue before we sailed with the amount of misinformation and emails saying there were changes to some of our bookings 42 emails to be exact, calling them is a total waste of time, excuses on voicemail they are busy and to go online, so it's a loop of not answering the phone or emails. My wife tried over and over again on the phone and had no joy, but when she pressed the button for a new booking the phone was answered immediately, all in all its distasteful the way they treat customers.
Read more
Helpful
Share
Daydreambeliever2018 wrote a review Sep 2021
Sheffield, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
I booked cruise N120 2 years ago, sailing on 03/10/21 and booked a suite on C deck. 3 weeks before sailing I had been downgraded to a suite on E deck.. 4 days before sailing I get an email to say I had been down graded again to a sea view cabin on P deck. P & O have placed in their terms and conditions that they can alter your accommodation or travel and their is nothing you can do about it. They can blame COVID for this but to be downgraded 13 cabin grades is beyond belief. I am not the only one many many passengers are being downgraded , some from deluxe balconies to inside cabins. Wonder how many passengers are sleeping in the life boats as a down grade! So beware if you are about to sail you may be in for a nasty shock. I have been cruising for 15 years and nothing like this has happened before. You would think that P&O could organise its 1st international cruise since lock down a lot better than this, after all they have been cruising around Britain for the last couple of months with constraints.
Read more
Helpful
Share
Elizabeth W wrote a review Nov 2020
Bristol 1 contribution
booked on a cruise for May 2020 which would have been for my 40th but understandably due to covid it got cancelled. But I've now been waiting a very long time for a refund although I have contacted p&o over thirty times now and have received emails from p&o over several months saying my refund was on it's way and now 6 months on nothing plus p&o aren't even replying to my emails. I really don't know what to do now as like I send I've emailed them over thirty times, wrote to them with no reply and phoned but they just cut you off. Disgusting customer service and I will think twice about booking with p&o in the future. Mrs Elizabeth Campbell I just want my refund
Read more
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456

Upcoming itineraries

Itinerary
12 Night Cruise to Europe
Departure date
Friday, 17/12/21
The map for this itinerary is not available at this time.
Itinerary
Top deals
Cruise OnlyUS$1,599pp
View Deal
Cruise OnlyUS$1,825pp
View Deal
Prices are cruise only, per person, double occupancy, and are provided by our partners. Taxes, fees and port expenses are not included. Fuel supplements may apply. Availability of prices is subject to the supplier’s pricing availability.