We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Paul_Merrywest wrote a review Sep 2021
Canterbury, United Kingdom81 contributions63 helpful votes
We booked the 4 day cruise through Princes Cruises to Belfast. The Princess Cruise staff were excellent but felt that they had made a BIG MISTAKE to involve Imagine Cruising. They seemed to think they owned the cruise and getting tickets for the concerts was extremely difficult.

I never want to go on a cruise where Imagine Cruising are involved..
Read more
Sail Date: September 2021
Cabin Type: Balcony
Type of Trip:
Destination: Europe
Cabin
Dining
Service
Onboard Activities
Entertainment
Value
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Scroll below for other great reviews

Regal Princess

103 reviews
 All photos (3,628)3,628
Full view
Traveller (718)
Common Areas (2,055)
Dining and Bars (944)
Itineraries for this ship
Itinerary
5 Night Cruise to the Eastern Caribbean
Departure date
Saturday, 04/12/21
Route
Fort Lauderdale (Port Everglades), Amber Cove (Puerto Plata), Princess Cays, Fort Lauderdale (Port Everglades)
View Map

Overview

About
Passengers: 3,560   |   Crew: 1,346
Passengers to crew: 2.64:1
Passengers to space: 39.6:1
Launched: 2014   

Decks

  • Deck 4
  • Deck 5
  • Deck 6
  • Deck 7
  • Deck 8
  • Deck 9
Additional decks
Deck 4 layout
 
Amenities
Medical Center
Tender Embarkation
Tender Embarkation

Cabins

Balcony
Cabin size: 222 - 233 sq. ft.
Connected rooms: 26
Accessible rooms: 22
Maximum passengers: 4
Number of cabins: 1088

Activities & entertainment

Activities (38)
  • Arts and Crafts Classes*
  • Beauty Salon*
  • Center Court
  • Dancing Classes
  • Deck Parties
  • Disco and Dancing
  • Fitness Center
  • Fitness Classes*
  • Game Shows
  • Hot Tubs (7)
  • Hydrotherapy Pool*
  • Internet Café*
  • Jogging Track
  • Jogging Track
  • Karaoke
  • Laser Range*
  • Lawn Court
  • Lotus Spa & Salon*
  • Platinum Studio*
  • Pools (4)
  • Princess Sports Central
  • Princess Sports Central
  • SeaWalk
  • SeaWalk
  • Shuffle Board
  • Solo travelers Get Togethers
  • Table Tennis
  • The Driving Range
  • The Enclave*
  • The Game Lounge*
  • The Library
  • Trivia
  • Ultimate Ship Tour*
  • Wine Tasting*
  • The Sanctuary*
  • Beach House Teen Lounge
  • Camp Discovery Youth Center
  • Teen Outside Lounge
Entertainment (12)
  • Live Music
  • Club 6
  • Comedy Shows
  • Movies Under the Stars
  • Nightly DJ
  • Outdoor Movies
  • Princess Casino*
  • Princess Live!
  • Princess Theater
  • Princess Theater
  • The Piazza
  • Vista Lounge
Dining (31)
  • Bar*
  • Bar*
  • Bar*
  • Bar*
  • Allegro Dining Room - American
  • Concerto Dining Room - American
  • Symphony Dining Room - American
  • Piazza Bar - Atrium Bar*
  • Calypso Cabana - Casual
  • Horizon Court - Casual
  • Horizon Terrace - Casual
  • Trident Grill - Casual
  • Churchill's - Clubby Lounge*
  • Bellini's - Cocktail Bar*
  • International Café - Coffee & Pastries*
  • Princess Live! Café - Coffee Bar*
  • Horizon Bistro - Fast Fare
  • Chef's Table Lumière - Gourmet*
  • Alfredo's - Gourmet Pizza
  • Gelato - Ice Cream*
  • Sabatini's Trattoria - italian*
  • Crooners - Martini Bar*
  • The Pastry Shop - pastries
  • Prego Pizzeria - Pizza
  • Mermaid's Tail - Pool Bar*
  • Outrigger - Pool Bar*
  • SeaView Bar - Pool Bar*
  • Wheelhouse Bar - Pub*
  • Ocean Terrace Seafood Bar - Seafood*
  • Crown Grill - Steakhouse*
  • Vines - Wine Bar*
* May require additional fees
Traveller rating
  • 65
  • 21
  • 9
  • 5
  • 3
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Graham S wrote a review 1 Nov
Saundersfoot, United Kingdom25 contributions9 helpful votes
To put the following review into perspective, it was our first cruise and was a 7 day round trip from Southampton to La Coruna in North West Spain. We cruised during the last week of October. Embarkation... Although all passengers required a Covid test administered before boarding the ship, this was a relatively quick and easy process. Made even quicker because of the assistance my Mother-In-law received with a wheelchair pushed by ‘Tony’ of the Intercruise mobility team. Tony could not do enough for us and kept us completely up to date with what was going as went through the test process. Once on board we were shown to our stateroom by which time our luggage had already arrived. The Ship... At 141,000 or so tonnes the ship is a fraction of the size of the largest cruise ships currently afloat but still large enough to cater 3560 passengers supported by 1346 crew members. There were approximately 2500 passengers on our particular cruise. I guess this reduced number took account of the need for social distancing due to covid. The ship was well maintained throughout. The lowest desk accessible to passengers principally contained the medical centre. The three decks above it contained bars restaurants shops, the passenger information desk and the Theatre. The decoration was as magnificent as you might expect and had a traditional feel to it. Although the ship has a modern IT system that helps passengers find their way round, I would have liked to have seen permanent signs indicating which way the bow and stern of the ship faced. No matter how hard I tried, I spent a great deal of time walking in the wrong direction having become disorientated. I did notice illuminated signs pointing out the front and rear of the ship but there were not enough of them and a lot of the time they were used for advertising purposes. Above these decks were eight decks, seven of which were principally occupied by accommodation. Our stateroom was on the next deck up, deck 16 around 127 feet above the water. As well as accommodation on this deck there was a sun deck with swimming pools, sun lounging area, bars and fast food bars. This was topped off with a massive TV and speakers such as you might see at a music festival. Also on our deck was the international Cafe with long opening hours and breakfast served till 11:30am. Deck 17 contained further swimming pools and sunbathing areas including an area called the Sanctuary, which for a daily supplement afforded greater privacy etc. If there were any areas for improvement it would be the lack of a forward facing bar and a dance floor large enough to stage ballroom dances but these are relatively minor issues. The stateroom... Our statement room was large enough to house a sizeable double bed, a two seater sofa and a dressing table. The washroom/shower room was well fitted out but only really big enough for one person at a time to use. The shower itself was excellent. It was powerful and never short of hot water. There was plenty of hanging space for clothes. Overall I would sum our stateroom up as clean and comfortable but not gigantic. The balcony was large enough for the two of us to sit outside in comfort around the small table provided for us. On the wall at the foot of our bed was a large flat screen TV. It could be used to watch a variety of film and TV services provided by Princess on a platform a bit like Netflix or Amazon Prime. The onboard information system could also be accessed via the TV. This helped in a variety of ways. For example you could use to find the location of different areas of the ship or to order food, drink and other room services. There were also a variety of cruise specific programmes being broadcast. These were often recordings of shipboard meetings but were very useful as a means of finding out about such things as the excursion destinations or onboard services. The crew... The crew was largely made up of South American nationals with a smattering of other ethnic origins thrown in and the service they gave was pretty much faultless. Yes there were a couple of occasions when drinks or a meal took quite a while to arrive but somehow the quality of service more than made up for this. All the crew were polite, giving a friendly good morning/afternoon/evening/night each time we passed. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble and all our queries were answered. We received excellent service all round. Covid Precautions... Every passenger was required to have a negative covid test at the quayside before boarding the ship. Once on board, the crew wore their face masks without exception. Passengers did likewise. Hand sanitizer stations were plentiful and positioned at strategic locations around the public areas of the ship. Never once did I find one of them empty. Seating in public areas was set out so that by and large you needn’t come into close contact with people in other parties and I saw much evidence of surfaces in public areas being regularly sanitised. Guests entering the Horizon Diner on deck 16 were politely asked to wash their hands before entering the restaurant. The ship operated a 1 metre distancing rule which was never a problem to uphold. Dining... The dining experience was by and large excellent. We ate in two of the ship’s thee dining room, the Concerto dining room and the Allegro dining room. With one exception in the Allegro dining room service was quick friendly and efficient. There was a good variety of choices on each menu and a good variety of menus across the seven nights of our cruise. The meals were beautifully cooked and beautifully presented. We didn’t pre-book a dining time. In fact because lots of guests had prebooked their dining times, probably before boarding, no fixed dining times were available. We learned that only 20% of the spaces in the dining rooms can be pre-booked in any case. Across the seven nights of our cruise we sat down straight away on a couple of occasions, on others we were given a pager and sat down nearby to have pre-dinner drink. At most the wait was 20 minutes. Once eating our meal there was no rush to finish. Also you were given the choice of sitting with members of another group or sitting on our own. There were some other specialist restaurants on board (Steak House / Italian etc.) but the quality of the food in the main dining rooms was so good there seemed no point in paying extra money to eat in them. When my wife couldn’t make her mind up about which of the meats to have for her main course, the waiter was happy to bring her all three!! There were a variety of activities and entertainments available on board throughout the cruise, more than enough to keep us entertained. In addition to the musical shows in the Princess Theatre musicians playing music from a variety of difference genres were to found at various bars and public areas around the ship. A really good band played up on the sun deck most afternoons too. The ship has a small nightclub (Club 6) which played a wide variety of music. Technology... Each passenger was issued with a Medallion containing an electronic chip that had a variety of uses. These included counting passengers on and off the ship and making payments for onboard purchases, such as the inevitable cruise photographs. Installing the medallion app on your mobile device opened up a variety of opportunities such as being able to order food and drink from the comfort of your chair or sun lounger. The app contained detailed plans of each of the ship’s decks to help you find your way round (Working like a Sat Nav) and could also be used to locate other members of your party on the ship. The guest assistance staff could be contacted by phone from the room but could also be contacted quite effectively via the app., generally getting a response within 15 or so minutes. Disembarkation... We were asked to place our suitcases outside our cabin by 10pm on the night before our disembarkation, we were given a location and time to muster ready for disembarkation. However we were pleasantly surprised when we made our way down to the mustering location (Long before our disembarkation time) to be told we could leave the ship and would find our cases already on the quayside. Once again Tony from the Intercruise mobility team was on hand to assist pushing the wheelchair and things went so well that we were in the minibus on route to the car park before our disembarkation time. Things that could be improved... 1. The Medallion App. As well as being useful on board this app can be used to book yourself onto the cruise, provide ID documents and confirm your Covid vaccination status etc. The app lacks clarity and it took several hours to get all the required information onto the app. This desperately needs to be made more passenger friendly!! 2. There were two formal evenings on the cruise. Whilst it was nice to dress up in a dinner suit there were no events run in conjunction with the formal dining to continue the formal theme of the night. 3. Although there was a small dance floor in Club 6 it would have been nice to have a larger dance floor. This could have been used to teach ballroom or Latin American dances (Which would have made a nice accompaniment for the formal dinners). Overall.... This week long cruise down the French coast and down to La Coruna on the North West coast of Spain was our first cruise. The quality of the ship, the courteous friendly crew and the quality of the dining experience made the whole trip wonderful. As a result, I would happily recommend a trip on the Regal Princess to others .
Read more
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
USfan99 wrote a review Oct 2021
3 contributions2 helpful votes
May I start by saying the ship was excellent, extremely clean and with a friendly and efficient crew. Food good and entertainment also. However the fitness and spa team were there only to sell.A published 45 minute stretch class ended after 20 minutes and then it was all about having a foot scan and buying inserts for $200. My husband and I paid for a body scan and, according to the non-medically trained instructor, my results were only seen on someone with Cancer. I therefore needed to spend $500 on supplements and a seaweed soak. This was on the second day and, had I been an anxious less cynical person, could easily have caused extreme distress. I have requested an apology and explanation for this action but am still waiting 4 weeks later. Not good enough Carnival. I know things have been tough on the travel industry but this is not the way to recoup. Travellers beware.
Read more
Helpful
Share
Sandra-Eyles wrote a review Oct 2021
Tiverton, United Kingdom273 contributions5 helpful votes
Just returned from 11 day cruise to the Canaries, stopping of at Vigo on the return trip. From check in to check out everything went smoothly for us. The ship was spotless and regular sanitising of all public areas. The staff were helpful, polite, welcoming and appeared to enjoy their job. I have to give a particular mention to Yvonne who looked after our cabin, quietly doing her job but always seem to be "there" if we needed anything or just a chat. The Medallion App didn't come up to scratch but I'm not going to moan about it (unlike some) because it didn't spoil our holiday. Well done Princess.
Read more
Helpful
Share
Jane M wrote a review Oct 2021
4 contributions3 helpful votes
Only cruised once, 20 years ago so didn't know what to expect. Ship was immaculate, clean and staff, without exception, polite and extremely helpful. Boarding(we did have priority boarding) smooth and without issue.Mini Suite fabulous, cabin steward so helpful. Food amazing in the symphony dining room and didnt bother/need to go anywhere else. Loads of seating in all areas. Medallion app worked fine, but you do need internet access, which despite paying 9 dollars per person, per day for, was so slow. That is our only minor complaint, we would expect quicker. We did use app to buy drinks, but note only order one drink at a time .. if you order 2, you will be charged for the second. The customer services happy to correct tho. So order one on the app, and let hubby order his on the app separately. Waiters very attentive and will happily provide without the app. For those who complain.. get a life. Covid has changed so much, but these guys work hard to provide a great holiday. Do your research as to what you need in the way of certificates, documents etc...staff will happily oblige if you get stuck with form filling, printing etc. All folks wear masks hand gel everywhere. Entertainment ok..I have seen better, and it became very samey each night. Best was Shelly the soprano in the Bravo show. Final comment is to say we were disappointed with the formal night. Whilst some wore Balck Tie, a lot did not and one guy sat with flip flops and shorts in the bar. Call me old fasioned, but I would like to have seen a little more of an extrravaganza for the formal nights..
Read more
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Paul_Merrywest wrote a review Sep 2021
Canterbury, United Kingdom81 contributions63 helpful votes
We booked the 4 day cruise through Princes Cruises to Belfast. The Princess Cruise staff were excellent but felt that they had made a BIG MISTAKE to involve Imagine Cruising. They seemed to think they owned the cruise and getting tickets for the concerts was extremely difficult. I never want to go on a cruise where Imagine Cruising are involved..
Read more
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456

Upcoming itineraries

Itinerary
5 Night Cruise to the Eastern Caribbean
Departure date
Saturday, 04/12/21
The map for this itinerary is not available at this time.
Itinerary
Prices are cruise only, per person, double occupancy, and are provided by our partners. Taxes, fees and port expenses are not included. Fuel supplements may apply. Availability of prices is subject to the supplier’s pricing availability.